Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (07.22.12)

July 22, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. 1957 by Milo Greene
2. Don’t You Give Up On Me by Milo Greene
3. Autumn Tree by Milo Greene
4. Minnesota, WI by Bon Iver
5. What’s The Matter by Milo Greene

Milo Greene‘s full length self-titled album finally came out last week! I’ve been listening to it on repeat and it is wonderfully mellow in a summertime sort of way.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in July by Jennifer Q @ Mrs. Q Book Addict.

I had one book arrive in the mail last week:

The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

I won this in a giveaway at The Infinite Curio (thanks Kay!!) and am very much looking forward to finding out how Ginny’s story ends.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Nothing. Husband is finishing up his Masters program, so I spend a couple evenings last week editing his big final paper/thesis/project thingy. It didn’t afford for much reading time, but at least the paper has been sent off to his first reader!

Posted:
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Currently Reading:
Paper Towns by John Green (re-read)
Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Brava, Valentine by Adriana Trigiani

Up Next: I don’t know! Maybe The Last Little Blue Envelope? Maybe Naked Heat?

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2012 12:45 pm

    Woo, The Last Little Blue Envelope! I wanna know what happens, too! :D

    • July 22, 2012 7:24 pm

      I may read that one soon, just because – how did she get the last letter back??!

  2. talesofwhimsy permalink
    July 22, 2012 3:19 pm

    Yay! I can’t wait for your thoughts on Naked Heat.

    • July 22, 2012 7:20 pm

      I am looking forward to reading it! I’m going through Castle withdrawal – I need to get my fix :)

  3. July 22, 2012 7:18 pm

    How is Shadow & Bone? I have been eyeing it at Chapters and I think when I go to the US next week I might pick it up. I love this feature on your blog Alita. some new music to check out. Wishing you a great week :)

    • July 22, 2012 7:20 pm

      I finished Shadow & Bone this afternoon and it was SO GOOD! I’m not even a bit fantasy fan, but I really really liked this book and cannot wait for the next one to come out. You should definitely get it.

  4. July 22, 2012 7:35 pm

    I’ve had that Blue Envelope series on my list for awhile…I should get to it soon!

  5. July 22, 2012 7:45 pm

    I’ve read good reviews for Shadow and Bone, glad you liked it too. Have a great week of reading.

  6. July 22, 2012 7:55 pm

    The Last Little Blue Envelope sounds very sweet and lots of fun – enjoy!

  7. July 22, 2012 7:57 pm

    I’ve never heard of that book you got.

    Here is mine

  8. July 22, 2012 8:15 pm

    Brava, Valentine is a great book!! :) Have a great reading week!

    What Are You Reading @ the Brunette Librarian?

  9. July 22, 2012 8:17 pm

    I finished a masters program earlier this year. My family helped out with projects too. I hope this week affords you more time for reading.

    My favorite read last week was Amulet, Vol. 5: Prince of the Elves (audio) by Kazu Kibuishi. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  10. July 22, 2012 8:19 pm

    I really like John Green, though I haven’t read Paper Towns yet. I hope you’re enjoying it.

  11. July 22, 2012 8:25 pm

    My reading has been spot on but not my posting! enjoy all your books

  12. July 22, 2012 8:28 pm

    Ahh- I remember years ago helping my DH finish his degree. It takes time!
    I have the 13 Little Blue Envelopes – I guess I need to read that.
    Have a great week.

  13. July 22, 2012 9:06 pm

    I’ve got 13 Little Blue Envelopes on my TBR mountain, there’s just not enough hours in the day. Paper Towns has been on my bookshelf for years, you obviously enjoyed it since you’re re-reading it?
    Enjoy your short cruise, I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful time and I look forward to seeing some photos! Happy reading :)

  14. July 22, 2012 9:12 pm

    Brava, Valentine seems like it’s a good read I’ll have to check it out more :)
    Happy Reading!
    Check out what I’m reading this week :)

    Kimberly @ Turning The Pages

  15. July 23, 2012 12:08 am

    Last Little Blue Envelope has me curious, really great title.

  16. July 23, 2012 3:42 am

    It sounds like you’ve been busy! My husband and son just started a business and helping them out has cut into my reading time as well. Have a great week and enjoy your new book!

  17. kaye permalink
    July 23, 2012 4:07 am

    Brava Valentine is a great read. I hope you love it as much as I did. Have a great week and happy reading (when you get the time) ;)

  18. July 23, 2012 4:27 am

    I enjoy Trigiani’s books….you’ll savor that one, I’m sure. Paper Towns is one I’m curious about. Enjoy!

    MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  19. July 23, 2012 5:17 am

    I have to get to Paper Town – that may be next on my IPOD! :)

  20. July 23, 2012 5:29 am

    I have been hearing so much about John Green lately. I’m definitely going to have to check him out. Brava, Valentine has been on my To Read list also but I have not got to it yet. Hope you enjoy your selections!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  21. July 23, 2012 8:44 am

    I have Shadow and Bone on my wishlist! I’m glad to see you enjoyed it! I wish your husband all the luck! Happy Reading this week!

    http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/2012/07/what-are-you-reading_23.html

  22. July 23, 2012 11:32 am

    Yay! I am glad the book arrived and I hope you enjoy reading it! :)
    Paper Town is the one John Green novel I haven’t read yet. I own it though, so I know I one day will.
    And great job on your husband’s thesis! That’s so generous of you. I hope all the “fruit” you’ve been eating helps you do a great job, haha! :P

  23. July 23, 2012 2:41 pm

    As someone who LOVED 13 Little Blue Envelopes, I was very disappointed with The Last Little Blue Envelope. For many, many reasons. But we can discuss after you read the book.

  24. July 23, 2012 4:28 pm

    I’ll have to read Howl’s Moving Castle based on the review you posted. And I really should read more of John Green’s books since I liked “The Fault in Our Stars.”

  25. July 24, 2012 3:22 am

    I’ve enjoyed Trigiani’s Valentine series. I think the third one should be on the horizon. Congrats to your husband on finishing his paper!

  26. July 24, 2012 6:08 pm

    I am so looking forward to reading Shadow and Bone – can’t wait for your review! :)

    Check out what I’m reading at – Between the Bind

I <3 Comments

