Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (07.08.12)

July 8, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. St. Croix by Family of the Year
2. Brother’s Boat by Eliza and the Bear
3. Red Heart by Hey Rosetta!
4. Chugjug by Family of the Year
5. Squealing Pigs by Admiral Fallow

Communion Music Song of the Week: Springtime Bloom by Holy Vessels. It’s an upbeat, folky, summery song. The kind you’d to listen to driving down the highway on the way to a picnic or camping, or whatever you do outdoors in the summer. Most of my summertime activities include laying around and eating ice cream.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I got one book from the library last week:

The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood

I nearly bought The Bellwether Revivals a couple months ago off a bookstore employee’s recommendation. But then she turned and also suggested 50 Shades of Grey, which made me second guess her first recommendation. I put the copy I had almost bought down, but it did sound really interesting, so I decided to borrow it from the library instead. And so far it’s been really good.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Posted:
Graduation Nights: I Love You, Beth Cooper and Graffiti Moon

Currently Reading:
The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood
Love Begins in Winter by Simon Van Booy
Paper Towns by John Green (re-read) 

Up Next: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo is up next, but first I need to finish at least two I currently have on the go. Now that summer has finally arrived, I’m hoping to spend a couple evenings this week at the beach, which should provide plenty of reading time :) I took a vacation day on Friday and had my first beach day of the season, and it was absolutely perfect.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2012 6:05 pm

    I want to read Code Name Verity and Howl’s Moving Castle. I’ve heard that both are excellent.

  2. July 8, 2012 6:17 pm

    Amazing beach view. Makes for the perfect reading spot!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

  3. July 8, 2012 6:30 pm

    :) I recommended Paper Towns to some teens this week at my library. Great choice!
    Happy reading this week :) What Are You Reading @ the Brunette Librarian?

  4. July 8, 2012 7:03 pm

    Shadow and Bone is on my reading list too. Can’t wait to see what you think! New reader. :)

    Between the Bind – What are you reading?

  5. July 8, 2012 7:05 pm

    I hope you liked Code Name Verity! I did. Enjoy your beach days and Happy Reading!

  6. July 8, 2012 7:05 pm

    Very jealous of your beach days – waiting for mine. There is nothing better than reading at the beach. Enjoy your days!

  7. July 8, 2012 7:07 pm

    I never realised before that Howl’s Moving Castle was by Diana Wynne Jones!

    The Library Loot cartoon made me laugh! :)

  8. July 8, 2012 7:09 pm

    I have a couple John Green books on my wishlist but I haven’t read any yet. My favorite book last week was Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  9. July 8, 2012 7:23 pm

    Love beach reading! Enjoy.

  10. July 8, 2012 7:33 pm

    Oh man, The Bellwether Revivals is NOTHING like 50 Shades .. nothing! But I understand your hesitating on that! I loved it and hope you fully enjoy the ending!

  11. July 8, 2012 7:37 pm

    I really really want to read Code Name Verity. Looking forward to your review! I am currently listening to Delirium.

  12. July 8, 2012 7:44 pm

    Hope your vacation gives you time to relax and read! enjoy all your books.

  13. July 8, 2012 8:04 pm

    I’ve heard good things about Code Name Verity. Next weekend will be my first beach reading of the season and I can’t wait. So glad I’m 10 minutes from Lake Michigan :)

  14. July 9, 2012 3:45 am

    Beautiful photo!

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    I hope you will stop by!

  15. July 9, 2012 5:05 am

    I love going to the beach in the evenings when it’s quiet – so peaceful and a great place to read!

    Enjoy your books this week – I’m not familiar with them, so I’ll be looking forward to reading your reviews of them.

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  16. July 9, 2012 5:57 am

    Enjoy your books! Paper Towns grabbed me…thanks for visiting my blog, and have a great week.

  17. July 9, 2012 7:29 pm

    I just read Code Name Verity myself. I’m so glad I read that one. Happy Reading!

  18. July 12, 2012 11:11 pm

    I wish I had a beach nearby to go read at! Sounds like a lovely week, hope you’ve been out there a few times to get some reading in :)

I <3 Comments

