Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (07.01.12)

July 1, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Always Gold by Radical Face
2. 1957 by Milo Greene (love their new music video for this song)
3. All at Sea by Richard Walters (the real, album version has finally appeared on the internet!)
4. Don’t You Give Up On Me by Milo Greene
5. A Pound of Flesh by Radical FAce

Communion Music Song of the Week: Now that I’ve signed up for Communion Music’s weekly email, I again have a new track to share with you every week! This week’s pick was Brother’s Boat by Eliza and the Bear. And I really, really it – the horns, its singlongable chorus – all of it.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

The book I was waiting anxiously for came in for me last week!

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

We’re talking about this book at book club in just over a week, and I am very much enjoying it. So far my first Diana Wynne Jones experience has been a positive one.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in July by Jennifer Q @ Mrs. Q Book Addict.

I had two books arrive in the mail last week:

The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
Love Begins in Winter by  Simon Van Booy

Meeting Simon Van Booy was one of my highlights of BEA. I bought my own copy Everything Beautiful Began After just before BEA and when I returned I decided that I also needed to own his short stories. I’ve already read The Secret Lives and I am very excited about reading Love Begins. And for the bonus material in these editions – Love Begins even has recipes! By Simon Van Booy!

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Ashfall by Mike Mullen
Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley

Posted:
Tune In Tuesday: Milo Greene
Reading Plan: July 2012
Giveaway: alita.reads. turns 3! (I’m giving away my favourite books! Ends on Saturday.)

Currently Reading:
Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Up Next: I’ll hopefully be starting my short stories selection for the month – Love Begins in Winter by Simon Van Booy.

Happy Canada Day to all my fellow Canadians! Any big celebratory plans? We’re heading out on my uncle’s boat for a bbq – I’m just hoping the sun comes out :)

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 10:58 pm

    I have Code Name Verity on my TBR list and I’ve heard amazing things about it so I can’t wait to see what you think!
    Happy reading!
    Here’s my It’s Monday! Post :)

    Kimberly @ Turning The Pages

  2. July 2, 2012 3:56 am

    Well darn, I missed you and Simon Van Booy at BEA. I’ve heard his books are fabulous!

  3. kaye permalink
    July 2, 2012 4:26 am

    Sounds like a busy week for you. I hope your Canada Day celebration was a lot of fun. Have a good week and happy reading!

  4. July 2, 2012 6:35 am

    Ooh ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’!! Still haven’t read that one, thanks for reminding me of it! I hope you enjoy all your books!!
    My Monday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  5. July 2, 2012 8:42 am

    They sound like two good reads, enjoy!

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/07/mailbox-monday.html

  6. July 2, 2012 9:43 am

    I’ve heard such good things about Howl’s Moving Castle – and I just finished Graffiti Moon too. I know everyone said it was good, but I was a little skeptical – but they were so right!

  7. July 2, 2012 10:59 am

    Looks like you have some good reads coming up. Hope you have a great Canadian Day!

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  8. July 2, 2012 1:54 pm

    I want to read Ashfall and Grafitti Moon, I have them on my TBR list.
    Have a great week!
    My It’s Monday!

  9. July 2, 2012 3:38 pm

    I still haven’t read Howl’s Moving Castle but apparently I have been missing out on something great. I’m glad you are appreciating it so far, and I can’t wait to hear more of your thoughts about it!

  10. July 2, 2012 7:01 pm

    I am not familiar with Simon Van Booy…I’ll have to check him out!

  11. July 2, 2012 7:36 pm

    Howl’s Moving Castle’s a good one. Happy reading.

    My favorite read last week was The Bride’s Kimono by Sujata Massey. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  12. July 2, 2012 7:40 pm

    Code Name Verity is on my TBR mountain, I’ve heard wonderful things about it. I loved Graffiti Moon, Cath Crowley is a terrific Aussie author. Enjoy your Canada Day celebrations and happy reading :)

I <3 Comments

