Skip to content

Reading Plan: July 2012

June 28, 2012

For the first time in my reading life, I have started a reading schedule.

My to-be-read pile has reached a nearly unbearable height and I’ve started to add review copies to the stack. Plus, I’ve been meaning to re-read a bunch books and I want to read more short stories.

So, once a month I’m going to share my reading goals with the world, so that at the end of the month I can either shout with victory or cry in defeat.

Every month my plan will look something like this:

Book club book
Short stories
Review
Re-read
TBR x whatever

I’m not going to schedule the TBR slots – those I’ll pick as I go. And every other month I will schedule in an extra review copy instead of a re-read.

Let’s start with July!

July’s Reading Plan

Book club book: Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones
Short stories: Love Begins in Winter by Simon Van Booy
Review: Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo (yeah, I know I’m a month late.)
Re-read: Paper Towns by John Green

Check back in a month to see how I do!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 10:25 pm

    I feel there should be one more category. Books Caitlin Forces on You.

    • June 29, 2012 10:01 am

      There really should be. But I have finished all the books you last forced on me! I have none left!

  2. June 29, 2012 2:56 am

    I like your plan. Very simple but still organized.

  3. June 29, 2012 3:57 am

    I have a hard time rereading a book unless it has been years since the last read. But you must have liked the book, which has to be a good sign. I’ve only read A Fault in Our Stars, but I really look forward to some of his other books.

    Allison
    http://www.wellreadreviews.com

    • June 29, 2012 10:02 am

      Paper Towns is my favourite of his. I’ve been wanting to re-read it since the moment I finished it the first time :)

  4. June 29, 2012 4:30 am

    Good luck with the plan. I keep thinking I should do this too but I’m sort of liking my pick what I feel like reading phase I’m going through. :)

    • June 29, 2012 10:04 am

      Thanks! I’m hoping leaving some TBR slots open will keep a bit of spontaneity in my reading.

  5. June 29, 2012 6:01 am

    I really need to do something like this. Its so hard to stay on top of things when you get so many great books. Hmm wonder if locking up my iRewards card would help? Look forward to your progress :) Happy Canada Day to you

    • June 29, 2012 10:04 am

      Ha! I’m wondering if locking up my library card will help :)

      Happy Canada Day to you, too!

  6. June 29, 2012 8:33 am

    I love schedules. They keep me organized and on top of things. Hope this helps you read the books you want to read.

    • June 29, 2012 10:06 am

      Thanks! Yeah, I was starting to realize that if I didn’t make some sort of plan, there were some books I’d never get around to reading.

  7. July 1, 2012 11:06 pm

    Hmmm… maybe I should consider a plan like that. I’d have to do some tweaking to make it fit, but… maybe.

    Good luck with your schedule, anyway.

Trackbacks

  1. Reading Plan: August 2012 « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

