Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (05.27.12)

May 27, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Skinny Love by Bon Iver (concert footage from Friday)
2. 1957 by Milo Greene
3. Creature Fear / Team by Bon Iver
4. Don’t You Give Up On Me by Milo Greene
5. St. Croix by Family of the Year

On Friday night I went to see Bon Iver play, and woah what an amazing show. They played at a lake close to my house which was the perfect backdrop for Justin Vernon’s tunes. I mean, imagine listening to Calgary being performed live and oh hey – there are a couple canoes floating by. And look at that, a bunch of Canadian geese flying in formation right across the stage. Highlights of the show for me were Calgary (of course), Skinny Love, and the spectacular encore closer The Wolves (Act I & II), which featured thousands of voices singing “What might have been lost” into the night.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

For some reason I keep picking books up from the library, when I know I won’t have time to read them all. This week I picked up:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (for book club)
Blue Bamboo: Tales of Fantasy and Romance by Osamu Dazai
The House I Loved by Tatiana de Rosnay
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in May by Martha @ Martha’s Bookshelf.

One day last week I was on my way to work and realize I forgot my book at home. I know, the horror. So, at lunch I ran out to the bookstore and picked this one up to hold me over:

I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle

And ha! is it weird.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

Posted:
What You Wish For: Stories and Poems for Darfur

Currently Reading:
The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis
Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge
I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (for book club)
Blue Bamboo: Tales of Fantasy and Romance by Osamu Dazai

Up Next: Ugh, I can’t even think of starting anything else right now. I’m not even sure how I managed to get 5 books going at once.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

This is going to be my last Round Up post before BEA. See you there?

 

43 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2012 7:48 pm

    I can’t read more than 2 books at once or I start getting all the characters mixed up!

    • May 28, 2012 10:26 am

      I usually only do 2 at once, too. I’m afraid I’m going to forget what happened in the books I started first and have laid aside!

  2. May 27, 2012 7:49 pm

    Looked like the concert was awesome. Lucky you! I love open aired concerts, they are the best no doubt about it. I’m keen to get my hands on Ready Player One. Funnily enough I bought it for my sister’s fiancee as a Christmas present as I knew it’d be his kind of thing but I haven’t read it myself! Hope to borrow it back off him now he’s read it ;)

    • May 28, 2012 10:25 am

      Outdoor concerts are always a little bit iffy here, because there’s always a good chance it will rain. Thankfully we had perfectly lovely weather on friday! Definitely borrow Ready Player One! It’s not the kind of thing I’d usually read, but it has totally sucked me in.

  3. May 27, 2012 7:51 pm

    Nice selection. I have Ready Player One in my Audible Library. I hope to get to it soon.
    Enjoy your reading!

  4. May 27, 2012 8:00 pm

    Concert sounds great and what a reading selection! I’m not game to go to the library, I’d have no time to do anything else ;)
    Enjoy BEA you lucky thing and happy reading :)

    • May 28, 2012 10:23 am

      I’m kind of all over the place in my reading right now! It seems like I have a little bit of everything started right now – Fantasy, Science Fiction, Short Stories, Non Fiction. Yeesh.

  5. talesofwhimsy permalink
    May 27, 2012 8:17 pm

    Awesome pictures. I’m not aware of that band but the scene/setting looks fantastic.

    • May 28, 2012 10:20 am

      It’s such a beautiful concert venue! I need to go to more shows there.

  6. May 27, 2012 8:20 pm

    I keep grabbing library reads too even though I have tons of books here. Ready Player One and The House I Loved are 2 I’m hoping to check out when I do have time. 5 books at once is amazing! I can only do 1 at a time.

  7. May 27, 2012 8:52 pm

    Nice to see some books i recognize –
    The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis
    Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge

    both loved and valued ! have a great week reading :)
    if you have indoor weather as i am, it sure gets more read … ! enjoy..

    • May 28, 2012 10:18 am

      I’ve put both those aside for the moment, but hopefully I can finish up my library books soon so I can get back to them.

  8. May 27, 2012 10:02 pm

    Ready Player One is amazing! Enjoy all your new reads.

  9. May 27, 2012 10:12 pm

    Reading Narnia, huh? Cute! Hope you enjoy! Here is my meme: http://vidya-booksaremagic.blogspot.com/2012/05/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_28.html

    • May 28, 2012 10:16 am

      I’m slowly making my way through the series this year. Very slowly.

  10. May 27, 2012 10:25 pm

    Know that feeling. Absolute horror and dismay!

  11. May 27, 2012 10:26 pm

    Looks like some good reads! I have often found myself with 4-5 books going at once so I know how you feel! The Horse and His Boy is not one of my favorite Narnia books but it’s still good!

    • May 28, 2012 10:15 am

      It’s a little stressful! Hopefully I can get myself back down to 2 books soon.

  12. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    May 28, 2012 12:10 am

    I finally just bought myself Ready Player One

    Have a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d out

    • May 28, 2012 10:14 am

      I’m really really enjoying it. I hope you’re able to get to it soon!

  13. May 28, 2012 2:42 am

    Having 5 books on the go is a lot! I usually end up finishing the most interesting one first. I’m reading no more than one or two books at a time at the moment.

    Have a good time at BEA!

    • May 28, 2012 10:14 am

      That’s what seems to be happening – I got started on Ready Player One and all the others have fallen to the wayside.

      • May 28, 2012 10:15 am

        I can imagine! I absolutely loved Ready Player One. The best book I’ve read so far this year. Have fun!

  14. May 28, 2012 3:55 am

    You need to make the time to read Ready Player One! It’s great!

  15. May 28, 2012 4:50 am

    Looks like a great show! Beautiful shots….and your books this week look fascinating. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  16. May 28, 2012 5:14 am

    Blind WIllow, Sleeping Woman sounds intriguing. Enjoy reading!

    Visit my mailbox.

    • May 28, 2012 10:12 am

      I’ve never read anything by Murakami, so I’m very much looking forward to this anthology. I only hope I can get to it before it’s due back!

  17. May 28, 2012 5:20 am

    FIve books at once…I’m impressed. Right now I have three going – one print and two audio and that’s almost more than I can handle!

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  18. Jenn permalink
    May 28, 2012 6:37 am

    Aren’t The Staves opening for Bon Iver on this tour? I saw them with Communion’s Austin to Boston tour along with Ben Howard, Nathaniel Rateliff and Bear’s Den and they were quite lovely.
    I know the feeling of being without a book and I try to avoid it at all costs. I make sure to carry a big enough bag that I can take a book with me wherever I go.

    • May 28, 2012 10:10 am

      They are! It took quite a while to get into the venue, so we missed half their set, but the bit of them we saw was very lovely indeed.

  19. May 28, 2012 1:05 pm

    I love that you ran out and bought a book at lunchtime since you had forgotten your current read at home. That sounds like something I would do!

    • May 28, 2012 3:03 pm

      The thought of not having something to read during my lunch break or on my commute home is unbearable!

  20. May 28, 2012 1:46 pm

    Enjoy your books. My favorite read last week was Amulet 4: The Last Council by Kazu Kibuishi. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  21. May 28, 2012 3:56 pm

    Sometimes I can read 2 books at a time but I usually prefer just one. I’m reading A Bitter Truth by Charles Todd. Have a great time at BEA!!

  22. May 28, 2012 4:34 pm

    BETH COOPER!!! I’ve been meaning to read this. Have an amazing time at BEA, I probably will not be going until next year.
    This week, I’ve been reading a lot, but I think my favorite has been Batman: Earth One.

I <3 Comments

