Skip to content

Snippet Thoughts – Anne of Green Gables, Perfect, and Princess in Love

May 16, 2012

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
If I learned one thing from reading Anne of Green Gables is that I should never ever under any circumstances read a book on my phone if I want to finish it in a timely fashion. Or ever. I get too distracted by everything else that I could possibly be doing – oh! New email – oh! My turn on Words with Friends – oh! Blog stats. With a physical book, there’s only one thing to do – read it. I’m far too easily distracted to deal with any more options than that. (Fun fact: my initials are ADD.) ANYWAY. Anne of Green Gables. While this was my first time reading the book, I definitely wasn’t unfamiliar with the story. I had watched adaptations of it when I was younger, I listened to the audio book while working last year, and I grew up watching “Road to Avonlea” so I knew all about the town. But actually reading it for the first time was a great experience. I love Anne’s imaginativeness and chattiness, and Matthew & Marilla’s growing protectiveness of her. I love the descriptions of the sparkling summers and crisp winters. Usually those descriptions bore me to tears, but in them Montgomery makes Avonlea come to life. So, if you’ve put off reading Anne of Green Gables because you already know the story, you should definitely still give it a try. In a format that works for you.

Perfect by Sara Shepard
I read the first two books in the Pretty Little Liars series about a year and a half ago, and they are what I like to call Literary Crack. You know they’re not very good, but you just can’t stop. Well, I managed to stop for a while and then recently talked to someone who was on book 2 and the craving came back. But just one more, I would just read one more. Yeah, that’s not going to happen. Perfect is pretty much more of the same as the first two books, and just like any good soap opera, not much time passes between episodes. In fact, I think that Perfect takes place over about a week, and less than a month after the events in Pretty Little Liars. So, this isn’t as much a review as me trying to say that if you liked the first book, you will probably like the third one. And be prepared, this one ends with quite the cliffhanger, so you’re going to have to read Unbelievable pretty soon afterwards.

Princess in Love by Meg Cabot
Another third in a series! I really, really like the Princess Mia series. It’s cute and fun and the books make for perfect Readathon reads. In this instalment, Mia has to deal with finals, a new clingy boyfriend, and , all while counting down the days to her official royal debut in Genovia. Again, if you’ve read & liked the first book in the series, then you would probably like this one as well. I actually liked this one more than the second, but not quite as much as the first. I’m looking forward to Princess in Waiting, when Mia finally touches down in Genovia. If you haven’t read these books, I highly recommend them for some light reading, just know that they move MUCH slower than the movie.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2012 6:21 am

    I loved that Montgomery was able to make me love a style of writing that normally annoys me. It’s very rare that it happens.

    • May 17, 2012 4:01 pm

      That part really surprised me. The book I’m reading now has lots of those kinds of descriptions and I have next to no patience for it. But I loved Montgomery’s descriptions of Avonlea.

  2. May 16, 2012 6:21 am

    I soooo need to read Anne. Part of me is wondering if I should do it now or wait until Baby Whimsy is old enough for us to read it together.

  3. May 16, 2012 9:15 am

    I used to read on my phone a lot, LOL. Now I read a lot on my iPad. I loved the idea that I could just put my phone in my pocket and take my “book” with me everywhere!

    Allison
    http://www.wellreadreviews.com

    • May 17, 2012 4:03 pm

      I envy you! I wish I could read on my phone because, yes, the portability is great. Unfortunately its portability comes with so many other features :)

  4. justbookreading permalink
    May 16, 2012 12:58 pm

    Glad you enjoyed Anne. Montgomery does have a way of making you fall in love with the place even when you don’t expect to.

    I agree about reading in a format that works for you. I love my Nook tablet but I’m finding myself checking email and twitter more often usual, especially because the Nook is always happy to tell me when someone wants to talk to me. :) I need to turn that feature off.

    • May 17, 2012 4:05 pm

      Ha, I would have the same problem with an ereader, too. Good thing your Nook has the option to turn those features off!

  5. May 16, 2012 5:22 pm

    Hahahahah, this is a good advertisement for reading on a dedicated e-reader rather than a game-filled phone full of things.

  6. May 25, 2012 8:44 pm

    I loved reading Anne as a girl and have been thinking I need to revisit.

I <3 Comments

