Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (03.04.12)

March 4, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Some Nights by fun.
2. Out on the Town by fun.
3. We Are Young by fun.
4. Shuffle by Bombay Bicycle Club
5. Chugjug by Family of the Year

As expected, I spent most of last week listening to the new fun. album. And wondering why so often lately my favourite songs from albums have been the bonus tracks.

Last week I bought tickets to see Bon Iver at an outdoor venue in May – which, in this city, could either be wonderful or wet and miserable. But, after posting about the show on Facebook, an old friend sent this my way – Bon Iver’d nursery rhymes. They are amazing. My only complaint is that there aren’t enough of them.

Starbucks | iTunes Pick of the Week: No new tunes this week.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in March by Anna @ Diary of an Eccentric.

On Saturday we had a local bloggers lunch, which was not only full of bookish talk, but also book swapping! Plus, Raincoast was amazingly kind in sending books along for us. Needless to say, husband was a little big shocked at the pile of books I brought home with me.

From Raincoast:
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda
Wake by Amanda Hocking
Fated by Alyson Noël

Borrowed from Caitlin:
 Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

Thanks to Caitlin, Jenny, LindseyMariam, and Nafiza for coming out and talking books for a couple hours :)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty
The Vanishing Act of Esmee Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell

Posted:
Snippet Reviews: The Postmistress, Ten Big Ones, Sloppy Firsts
On changing my review policy

Currently Reading:
The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes
Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Up Next: I’m thinking I’m going to try For Darkness Shows the Stars next.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 3:11 pm

    Jellicoe Road is AMAZING. And I’m so excited to read Shadow & Bone! I really need to set aside some time to listen to Some Nights. Happy reading!

  2. March 4, 2012 7:00 pm

    I love getting together with local bloggers and talking and swapping books. Looks like you got great books! Enjoy your reading week.

  3. March 4, 2012 8:12 pm

    I re-read Anne of Green Gables a couple years ago. Please come see what I’m reading.

  4. March 4, 2012 9:32 pm

    I bet your blogger lunch was awesome! There are few bloggers on the east coast, it seems. All are in the mid west/west coast or Canada. :(
    Enjoy reading your awesome books this week..
    <3

    What R U Reading?

  5. March 4, 2012 11:39 pm

    I got a copy of the Maggie O’Farrell book before it came out and loved it. I picked it up just because a publisher gave me a copy and I wasn’t expecting to like it. I don’t think I would have read it otherwise. Would have been a shame as it was such a wonderful read.

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    March 4, 2012 11:44 pm

    How great that you get the chance to meet up with other bloggers!

    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. March 5, 2012 2:31 am

    Mainly new to me. Enjoy them all.

  8. March 5, 2012 5:32 am

    Looks like you have some awesome reads ahead of you! I’m slightly jealous of your mailbox haul last week! LOL Happy reading!

    http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/2012/03/what-are-you-reading-monday-9.html

  9. March 5, 2012 8:20 am

    I have yet to read Anne of Green Gables but I grew up watching the movies! Hope you have a great reading week!

  10. March 5, 2012 8:49 am

    The Brightest Star sounds like a great read and well, Anne of Green Gables is a classic. Enjoy reading!

    I’m a new RSS subscriber!
    Take a look at what I’m reading this week!

  11. March 5, 2012 3:11 pm

    I liked ‘Esme Lennox’. Have a great week!

  12. March 5, 2012 11:30 pm

    I highly support your decision to read For Darkness Shows the Stars next!

  13. March 6, 2012 8:32 am

    I hope you love Anne of Green Gables as much as I did! Enjoy your new books!

I <3 Comments

