Skip to content

On accepting review copies and amending my review policy

March 3, 2012

When I arrived on the book blogging scene nearly 3 years ago, there seemed to be a big ‘woe! too many books to read!’ cry going out within the book blogging community. I kept reading things like “I have so many review books piling up that it’s been MONTHS since I’ve read any of my own books.” And “Ugh, the pressure to read and review books by a certain time is too much. I want this blogging thing to be FUN again.” So, I took that in and decided that I wouldn’t accept any books for review. Because I did want this blogging thing to be fun and I did want to read my own books. And I knew that if I accept books from publishers I would very easily start putting more pressure on myself and my blog than necessary. Because I don’t read very fast, I don’t read hundreds (or even one hundred) books a years, so the too many books would wear me down.

And for nearly 3 years I’ve been the happy little oddball book blogger who doesn’t have any ARCs on her bookshelf.

But recently I’ve been rethinking this policy. I’ve been thinking about what ‘I am not accepting books for review’ means as I get more involved in the book blogging community, especially with local book bloggers. Does that only mean that I won’t accept books that publishers offer to send me? What if I go to an event where ARCs are being given out – does that count as a review copy? If I borrow and ARC from a friend – does that? What about going to an event like BEA? That seems to be nothing BUT review copies. Suddenly everything seems too messy and far too complicated. I don’t want to feel like I’m being unfair or limiting what I can share on this blog because of one sentence on my About page.

So, I am officially changing my review policy.

The New alita.reads. Review Policy:
(subject to change)

I will accept some books for review. Although I love to read and love discovering new authors, I’m not a fast reader and so cannot accept as many books as I would like to. However, if your book sounds like something I will love, I would definitely like to read it.

Books I will consider accepting:
*Chick lit
*Classics / re-tellings of classics
*Contemporary YA
*Contemporary fiction in general
*Some paranormal, fantasy, science fiction
*Anything similar to what I’ve already read & enjoyed

Books I will not accept:
*Children’s books
*Ebooks
*Non-fiction
*Picture books
*Romance/Erotica
*Self-help
*Self published
*Spiritual/religious

At the moment I cannot commit to any book tours, author interviews, guest posts, etc. I also cannot commit to reading & reviewing a book by a specific date. However, any book that I do read will be mentioned on this blog, and I will give my honest opinion of it – positive or negative.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2012 6:46 pm

    Good luck! :) I think a Review Policy should grow and evolve as the blogger does. Sounds like you’re doing just that.

  2. March 4, 2012 7:10 am

    I’m another oddball book blogger, but I DO make exceptions from time to time, and I download the occasional e-book from NetGalley. There’s nothing like flexibility and taking things at our own pace.

  3. Sig permalink
    March 4, 2012 12:41 pm

    Good for you for having the courage to re-think and come up with an honestly assessed new plan. I’m looking forward to
    what will happen next. (like a good story – you’ve got me hooked).

  4. March 4, 2012 5:30 pm

    I don’t accept review copies of books very often — once in a while I’ll send an inquiry to a publisher, but mostly only for something I already anticipate liking. Otherwise it all piles up on me and stresses me to death.

I <3 Comments

