Skip to content

Tune in Tuesday (02.21.12)

February 21, 2012

Tune in Tuesday is hosted by GReads and is meant to showcase music we love, old and new. I’ll be featuring songs I’ve come across here and there that I think EVERYONE should be introduced to :)

I know that someone else has already featured Bombay Bicycle Club, and I don’t want to double up, but I saw them play last night and THEY WERE AMAAAAAZING.

I was first introduced to Bombay Bicycle Club in 2007 or 2008 and immediately fell in love with their The Boy I Used To Be EP. I’ve been following and listening to them consistently since then (“Always Like This” has 607 plays on my iTunes, but I know that doesn’t include all my ipod plays), so to say that I was eager to finally see the live would be a huge understatement.

You know when you go see a band you really like and they play your favourite songs and those song are a bit of a let down live? Last night was the opposite of that. They played my favourites and they were even better live. And the sold out crowd was dancing and singing along and there was a whole bunch of live music magic in the air.

This was their very first Vancouver show, and it had better not be their last. I’m temped to jump on a plane and catch more dates on their North American tour, just in case. If you have a chance to see Bombay Bicycle Club play, I very much recommend doing it. Check out dates HERE. If not, at least check out some of their music.

Lights Out, World Gone (live)

Always Like This (live)

Open House (live)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 2:04 pm

    I’ve never heard of them so now I feel kind of lame, haha. They have a very mellow sound, it’s different. Definitely saving them for later!

    Preet @ AWR

    • February 21, 2012 3:52 pm

      Haha :) They’re actually not very well known in North America, they’re from the UK and, I believe, are much bigger there. I was actually looking around the venue last night and thinking ‘how did all these people hear about this obscure UK band??’

  2. February 21, 2012 6:57 pm

    I really lovedALways Like This! And I had never heard it before! :D I really liked it!
    Thanks for sharing it!

    And they sound great live!!!

I <3 Comments

