Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (02.12.12)

February 12, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. A Pound of Flesh by Radical Face
2. The Moon is Down by Radical Face
3. Kin by Radical Face
4. Always Gold by Radical Face
5. Poor Eliza by Chris Bathgate

Yup, more Radical Face. Much more Radical Face. The storytelling in that album just amazes me.

Starbucks | iTunes Pick of the Week: Chameleon/Comedian by Kathleen Edwards. This is a really great song, and I will probably listen to it more once my Radical Face obsession lessens a bit.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in February by Kim @ Metro Reader.

On Saturday I went to a Marissa Meyer reading & signing. I hadn’t yet read Cinder (nor obtained a copy, for that matter) and I didn’t know much about Marissa Meyer, but I’m always up for some bookish fun times, so I figured I’d go see her anyway. She turned out to be really engaging and funny and well-spoken, so it was a fun little event. Plus, it’s always great to catch up with and meet other local bloggers.

I bought a copy of Cinder there, which I’m really excited to read now, and I got it signed. She also gave out fortune cookies during the signing, which was a fun touch.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Posted:
Wrapping Up January 2012
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Currently Reading:
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
Lola & the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – my Valentines read :)

Up Next: Ten Big Ones by Janet Evanovich

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2012 5:25 pm

    You are so lucky to have gone to see Melissa. I wish her tour would have extended down to Montreal. I bought the book a little awhile ago and really hoping to get it very soon.

  2. February 12, 2012 6:30 pm

    I liked the Postmistress very much. I like this era so like the ambiance of this period!

  3. February 12, 2012 7:17 pm

    I’ve heard good things about Cinder. I read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe with both my kids and we thought it was okay but we loved the movie.

  4. February 12, 2012 7:27 pm

    I still need to post my review of The Postmistress.

    I caught the flu on Wednesday. I spent much of the weekend in bed reading. Please come see what I’ve read.

  5. February 12, 2012 8:16 pm

    Oh! Marissa Meyer! You are lucky! How fun that had to be. I really enjoyed Cinder!

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    February 12, 2012 9:19 pm

    I didn’t plan things very well – I should have thought to have a romance novel ready to read tomorrow!

    Wishing you a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  7. February 13, 2012 1:39 am

    They sound good. :)
    My Monday Memes post

  8. February 13, 2012 3:54 am

    I love author events so I’m glad you got to see Marissa Meyer – I’ve heard Cinder is great!

  9. February 13, 2012 5:01 am

    A signed copy of Cinder? Awesome….Enjoy all of your books, and have a great week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST –

  10. February 13, 2012 5:45 am

    An author and signing would be so fun to attend. The fortune cookies were a nice touch too.

  11. February 13, 2012 8:53 am

    Sounds exciting meeting the author and the signing.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/02/mailbox-monday_13.html

  12. February 13, 2012 1:59 pm

    Regarding the signing: COol! Did you take pics? How cute that she gave out fortune cookies! Clever. Does it say anything special?

  13. February 13, 2012 11:12 pm

    Too funny! My book club (The Parchment Society .blogspot.com) is reading The Postmistress for our March read. Enjoy!
    Find me here:
    http://bookjunkiemom.blogspot.com/2012/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_13.html

  14. February 14, 2012 7:58 pm

    Oh, yay! Lola is so cute!

  15. February 19, 2012 10:20 am

    I haven’t heard of this book before, but I hope you enjoy it!

    Thanks for stopping by MM!

  16. March 13, 2012 3:24 pm

    Currently checking out Radical Face – haven’t listened to them before :) I really want to re-read The Lion Witch and Wardrobe series again. I watched the latest movie and realised I didn’t remember any of the plot from the books.

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

