Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

January 28, 2012
tags:

Soundtrack Saturday is an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.
At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.
Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Soundtrack Song: “Always Gold” by Radical Face
I know! I thought I was done with these posts, too. But, when you come across a song that perfectly fits with what you’re reading, you have to do something about it. And for me these posts are that something.
I have not been quiet about the fact that I’m having trouble with this book, and it’s so frustrating because I want to get swept up by the story and I want to Feel All The Things. And this song? It’s helped me Feel More of the Things.
“Always Gold” is haunting and beautiful, everything that Puck feels for the island of Thisby, with a pulse reminiscent of racing horse hooves. But what gets me even more are the lyrics, which seem to be taken directly from Puck’s relationship with her brother Gabe.

Everything goes away
Yeah, everything goes away
But I’m gonna be here till I’m nothing but bones in the ground

But I’m fine with where I am now
This home is home and all that I need
But for you this place is shame 

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 8:01 am

    What a great song!
    I love it.
    I can see how it helped it click more for you.

  2. January 28, 2012 9:37 am

    This is such a great song. Even though I haven’t read the book I can see how the song would fit it. I think this is a great meme, by the way, because listening to songs will always conjure up images and stories for me, so I can see how it would do the same vice versa.

Trackbacks

  1. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

