Skip to content

The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern (thoughts)

January 26, 2012

From the author’s website:
This is a story about how tomorrow can change what happens today…
Tamara Goodwin has everything she ever wanted and she never has to think about tomorrow. But suddenly her world is turned upside down and she has to leave her glamorous city life for a new one in the country. However, Tamara is soon lonely and longing to return home.
Then a travelling library arrives in the village, bringing with it a mysterious leather-bound book locked with a gold clasp and padlock. What Tamara discovers within its pages takes her breath away and everything starts to change in the most unexpected of ways…

I’ve had two previous experiences with Cecelia Ahern’s books, and neither was a rousing success. So, even though The Book of Tomorrow came out a couple years ago to much fanfare, it has been languishing on my tbr shelf for nearly as long. Guess what? I liked this one! A lot!

Let me reiterate what I said after reading The Gift – Ahern has really grown as a writer since PS I Love You. And that she’s growing still is evident in The Book of Tomorrow, which I found to be much more readable and engaging than the other two. At no point was I so distracted by the writing that I was unable to fall into the story. Which, let me tell you, was quite nice.

The other issues I had with her previous books were that a) the characters seemed younger than they were supposed to be and b) that plot points often seemed forced and unlikely. In The Book of Tomorrow Tamara is 16 and oh boy does she ever seem 16, all prickly and confused and ‘yes I am right all the time.’ All of that, and in the end still likeable. As for plot, yes you’re going to have to suspend a certain amount of belief when you’re reading a story about a diary with entries detailing tomorrow. But the narrator tells you that on the first page, so you’re given fair warning. Even with all the unbelievable things that happen and are revealed, it all felt perfectly believable within the context of the story.

I’m just going to end this with saying it was a really enjoyable read. Far better than I expected. So, if you’ve also had this on your tbr shelves for years, dust it off and give it a go.

Any other Aherns I should try? Or is this considered her best?

My rating: 8/10

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 8:13 pm

    I have this one on my bookshelf and now that I’ve read your review I want to dust it off and read it.

  2. January 27, 2012 10:31 am

    I tried this one but had the hardest time with Tamara. I spent too much time wishing I could reach my hand in the book and slap her. I did however really like the beginning. Great review.

  3. January 27, 2012 10:13 pm

    I had been disappointed with my reading of Ahern too so I’m really glad to hear she’s grown as a writer. Having read your review I might actually give this one a chance. Thanks! :)

  4. January 29, 2012 7:27 am

    I definitely agree Miss Ahern is getting better and better, and this is my favourite of all that I’ve read. Reminds me of the best books I used to read when I was younger, all magical and escapism with mysteries and a relatable, if not immediately lovable character at the heart of the story. And a beautiful cover, too!

  5. January 30, 2012 4:48 am

    I loved it, too…and much more than a couple of her other books. Thanks for sharing.

  6. February 3, 2012 7:53 pm

    This is the first review of this books that makes me think I might like it. Well done :)

I <3 Comments

