Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (01.22.12)

January 22, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. All At Sea by Richard Walters
2. Carwars by Funeral Party
3. Shuffle by Bombay Bicycle Club
4. I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) by Blake Stratton
5. It’s Not True by William Fitzsimmons

Starbucks | iTunes Pick of the Week: Hold You by Elliott Brood and Adieu by Cœur de Pirate. I’ve only given each of these a quick listen, so I can’t really say much about them. They’re both very different, but neither are really my style.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in January by Alyce @ At Home with Books.

You may remember that last week I had planned my reading around The Fault in our Stars by John Green arriving on Tuesday. However, after I published my weekly round up post I realized that, while the expected delivery date was Tuesday, it was actually Tuesday January 24. I still had to wait more than a full week! Woe :(

But!! (there’s always a but)

On Friday I was just about to leave for my morning latte when the mail came in and I spied a book-shaped box. Could it be?? Yes it could! It was my lovely, signed, pre-ordered copy of TFioS! I’ve already finished it and it was funny and heartbreaking and I’m glad I have a little while to collect my thoughts before Anastasia and I review it together.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr (reread)
The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Posted:
The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman

Currently Reading:
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (I am having so much trouble with this one. But people have liked it, yes?)
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

Up Next: Just want to finish the two that I have going right now.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 7:44 pm

    You don’t like Scorpio Races? Is this your first Maggie book?

    • January 22, 2012 7:50 pm

      Yes this is my first Maggie. It’s not that I’m not liking it, it’s just not really catching my interest. I’m still willing to give it a chance, but I figured that 100 pages in I would already be pulled into the story. This has not been the case.

      • January 26, 2012 11:11 am

        I haven’t tried this one yet but I did love Lament & Ballad.

        Kudos for hanging in there. After 1-2 chapters of not connecting I usually give up.

  2. January 22, 2012 8:32 pm

    I couldn’t read “Scorpio Races” I enjoyed the others she has written, but this was a little too out there for me. Good luck to you tho!

  3. January 22, 2012 8:43 pm

    I need to read Pullman one day, people seem to really enjoy his books!

    New RSS follower! Come see my Monday as well! Have a great week everyone!

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    January 22, 2012 10:29 pm

    Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is one of those books I know I should have read by now but haven’t LOL

    Wishing you a great reading week!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out
    http://www.bookdout.wordpress.com

  5. January 22, 2012 11:13 pm

    My last semester beings on Wednesday. This is my last week of reading tons for a while. Please come see what I’m reading.

  6. January 23, 2012 1:16 am

    Enjoy them all.

  7. January 23, 2012 1:41 am

    I had a very good selection this last week. This coming week is going to be a slow one though.

  8. January 23, 2012 4:43 am

    People have loved The Scorpio Races. Sorry you’re struggling with it.

  9. Rachel permalink
    January 23, 2012 6:30 am

    I struggled with The Scorpio Races too. I have read a few things lately that people have loved and I have only felt blah towards them. Maybe it’s me.

    My Monday Reading List: http://rachelreader.blogspot.com/2012/01/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-15.html

  10. January 23, 2012 7:06 am

    The Fault in our Stars is on my wish list…glad you loved it. Enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST – and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  11. January 23, 2012 7:32 am

    You got a great mailbox! Happy Reading!!!

    Here is my post!

  12. January 23, 2012 10:05 am

    The Scorpio Races seems to be either a hit or miss for readers. I will have to rethink reading it myself. I enjoyed Sara Zarr’s How To Save a Life. I see you reread one of her books so it must be a good one! I’ll have to add it my someday list.

  13. January 23, 2012 10:51 am

    I’ve heard the John Green book is quite emotional.

  14. January 23, 2012 12:23 pm

    Hmmm…. Now I have to go research The Scorpio Races. I checked your review of The Ruby in the Smoke. Sometimes, I judge a book by it’s title, and I would have read it for the title alone, but based on your review, I suspect it isn’t my cuppa tea.

  15. January 23, 2012 5:47 pm

    It’s great that you received such an anticipated book in your mailbox this week – that’s always a treat!

  16. January 25, 2012 7:07 am

    I’ve seen The Fault in Our Stars all over the place that now my curiosity is really piqued. I look forward to your review. Thanks for visiting my blog.

I <3 Comments

