Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (01.15.12)

January 15, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Carwars by Funeral Party
2. I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) by Blake Stratton (have you heard this cover??? It is amazing)
3. Squealing Pigs by Admiral Fallow
4. Colours (Teen Daze Remix) by Young Liars
5. Somebody That I Used To Know (feat. Kimbra) by Gotye

Starbucks | iTunes Pick of the Week: My Starbucks (aka the one by my office) had the same download cards up this past week as they did the week before, so give The Sound of Your Life by Jason Bajada another listen :) (Also, apparently the link I left last week didn’t work. Whoops!)

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in January by Alyce @ At Home with Books.

I went to check out The Fault in our Stars signatures before book club last week (green j-scribbles only) and I had no intention of buying anything. Honest.

But.

Then I found Lola and the Boy Next Door! Why did I not know this book had already become available to the general public? I loved Anna and the French Kiss (I mean, I read it twice in one year. That never happens.), so I’m super excited about reading this one. But I think I’m going to save it until February as my Valentines read :)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman
The Book of Tomorrow Cecelia Ahern

Posted:
Tune in Tuesday
Cleaning up: Unreviewed books of 2011 Pt.2 (a hodge-podge of books by Julie Buxbaum, Lani Taylor, Edith Wharton, John Green, etc)
Currently Reading:
In between books

Up Next: I think that I’m going to reread Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr until The Fault in our Stars hopefully finally arrives this week. (Pre-orders. You’d think they would arrive the week of release.)

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 2:21 pm

    You read Anna and the French Kiss twice in one year? My God, it MUST be good. I really do need to get that read, I’m dying to see if it lives up to the hype. I can’t wait to see what you think of Lola and the Boy Next Door!

    I love I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) too :)

  2. January 15, 2012 2:22 pm

    I’m reading Lola right now and it’s good!

  3. January 15, 2012 4:15 pm

    I’ve heard Lola and the Boy is a cutie. Enjoy!

  4. January 15, 2012 6:37 pm

    I really loved both Anna and Lola – I still need to buy Lola though!

  5. January 15, 2012 6:45 pm

    Have read wonderful things about The Fault in our Stars…hope it arrives soon!!! :)

  6. January 15, 2012 7:02 pm

    I enjoyed the book of tomorrow.

    Here is mine

  7. January 15, 2012 7:06 pm

    You have a nice haul of books. Enjoy them all.

  8. January 15, 2012 7:27 pm

    I have to look into the Book of Tomorrow. I have a couple of left over reviews to wrap up too. Enjoy your week. :-)

  9. January 15, 2012 7:34 pm

    Squealing Pigs is a very interesting title.

    Here is mine

  10. January 15, 2012 8:34 pm

    Looks like a good week Alita – enjoy :)

  11. January 16, 2012 4:56 am

    I loved The Book of Tomorrow. Hope you enjoyed it as well. Have a good week and happy reading!

  12. January 16, 2012 5:34 am

    I like the cover of Lola. Enjoy.

  13. January 16, 2012 6:25 am

    I feel like I need to read Anna and the French Kiss pronto!

  14. January 16, 2012 6:58 am

    I might have to try the Lola books…I need to read some YA this year for one of my challenges.

    I loved The Book of Tomorrow. Enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  15. January 16, 2012 7:07 am

    Enjoy Lola and the Boy Next Door! I wouldn’t have been able to resist it either.

  16. January 16, 2012 7:42 am

    I hope you enjoy Lola as much as Anna :)

  17. January 16, 2012 8:47 am

    I don’t have them yet, but both Lola and the Boy Next Door and Anna and the French Kiss are on my to-buy for my Not-So-Bebe-Girl Autumn – :) – but I get to read her books too! How did you like The Book of Tomorrow? I really enjoyed it (I love sassy female characters – but I really loved the nun best).

    Enjoy your reading week!

  18. January 16, 2012 8:49 am

    I have Lola and the Boy Next Door on my shelf but I haven’t read it yet. I’ve heard good things though!

  19. January 16, 2012 12:04 pm

    I enjoyed Anna so I would have had a hard time resisting Lola! Everyone seems to love both books!

  20. January 16, 2012 12:22 pm

    I haven’t heard of these authors but I hope you enjoy them. Happy reading!

  21. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    January 16, 2012 6:56 pm

    I’m almost afraid to read Anna and The French Kiss in case I am in the minority and don’t like it

    Have a great reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  22. January 18, 2012 12:20 pm

    I really need to read both Anna and Lola. I own both and have yet to get to them!

I <3 Comments

