Skip to content

Cleaning up: Unreviewed books of 2011 Pt.2

January 11, 2012

So much for getting these all in before 2012. But after this, I start 2012 with a clean slate! (Part 1)

After You by Julie Buxbaum
This was a heartbreaking and wonderful read. If I had done a Soundtrack Saturday post for it, the song would been “All At Sea” by Richard Walters – specifically to go with the ‘morning after’ scene in the hotel room with Ellie & her husband (lyrics: Hold me my love / Telling me don’t be afraid / Wouldn’t you want me swim / Wouldn’t you want me to stay). Now, if only I could find an album version of that song online, because it is far better than this demo one floating around.

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Oh goodness, this was a good book. If I hadn’t had to read it for book club, I probably wouldn’t have given it a second thought (or a first one, for that matter), so I’m glad I was forced given the option to read it. I really liked Karou and I liked that the romance wasn’t the main focus of the book – that it took its time coming up and then was just an added complication to Karou’s mission. Looking forward to book 2 (but where have all the stand alone YA books gone??).

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
I had a really hard time getting into this book – solely because of the writing. After so much YA,it took an awfully long time for my brain to wrap itself around that style of writing. But once I got into it? It was lovely. Heartbreaking (yup, another one) and so very lovely. Actually, I probably would have paired “All At Sea” with this book, too. The lyrics and mood convey everything the main characters from both After You and The Age of Innocence want from the other person, but are unable to articulate, either because of their own pride or or because of social constructions.

Zombies vs Unicorns by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier
Even though I’m Team Unicorn, I liked more of the Zombie stories than I did the Unicorn ones. This was an okay anthology and I thought that the best stories were packed smacked dab in the middle. My favourite? Hands down Maureen Johnson’s “Children of the Revolution” for Team Zombie. Favourite Unicorn story? Probably Meg Cabot’s “Princess Prettypants”. I could have done without the trash talk attempts between stories, though.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
This started out super creepy for me, but I think that might have had something to do with being home alone on a dark & stormy night. It turned out to be a Very Interesting Story with slightly creepy pictures, that I think could turn out to be a Very Interesting Series.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
What you get from this book is exactly what’s advertised on the front cover (or at least the front cover of the edition I have): Funny, rude and original. And as cliche as it is, it really did make me laugh and it did make me cry – and it did wonders for my reading slump. But then, unfortunately, it ended and my slump returned.

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle
My only holiday-themed reading of 2011. All I can really say about this is that it was Nice. After talking to other people who have read it, I had Very High expectations for the Maureen Johnson story and Very Low ones for the Lauren Myracle story, so in the end they all leveled out into one fine, okay, cute way to while away the Christmassy days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 6:33 am

    I read The Age of Innocence so long ago and I remember it being hard to get into at first too but then it was just lovely. One of these days I will get to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

  2. January 11, 2012 12:54 pm

    Cute minis!
    I want Let it Snow.

  3. January 11, 2012 2:02 pm

    Oh, that’s good to hear about romance not being the main focus in Daughter of Smoke & Bone! I’ve been wanting to read it but I was a bit unsure if I’d like it.

  4. January 11, 2012 7:28 pm

    Looks like some good picks! I loved your blurb on Will Grayson, Will Grayson!

  5. January 16, 2012 8:56 am

    What a great way to wrap up your 2011 reviews .. I keep thinking I should do some mini reviews like these for the books that I still have left to review .. hmmm.. Miss Peregrine’s Home … one that I want. Daughter of Smoke and Bone – one that I HAVE TO HAVE. :)

I <3 Comments

