Skip to content

2011 Favs & 2012 Goals

January 4, 2012

FireworksHAPPY NEW YEAR!!

We’re only 4 days into 2012, and already I feel late to the new year party. Oh well, here we go anyway!

2011 was an average reading year for me. I didn’t read as much as I did in 2010 (3 fewer books and about 2,000 fewer pages [actually exactly 2,011 fewer pages,  if you can believe it]), but it was still a great bookish & blogging year. A couple of the biggest highlights were joining a book club & meeting other bloggers in the flesh (finally! bookish people to talk about bookish things with!) and hosting my first blogging event.

But even though I didn’t read as many books, that doesn’t mean that I didn’t learn anything about my reading habits and what works well for me. In the last year I learned that not only can I read more than one book at a time, I often read more when I have a couple books on the go. I didn’t start until the last bit of 2011, so I’m curious to see what this new reading habit will do to my reading stats by the end of 2012.

And, reading fewer books doesn’t mean I didn’t read some fantastic ones.

Favourite Books of 2011 (not necessarily highest rated, in no particular order [okay, in the order in which I read them])
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Anna & The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski
Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy
Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

At the beginning of the year I had set 3 goals for my 2011 reading:

1) Read down the TBR shelves
2) Read more titles from the Characters with Disabilities list
3) Don’t join any reading challenges

How did I do with those goals? Well, let’s start with number 1. At the end of 2010, my TBR shelves were sitting at 55 books. According to Last Year Alita, “on the 31st of December I would like that number to either be significantly smaller or to have been replaced with all new unread books.” Well, I read 21 of them in 2011, so that’s good right? But, there are currently 20 new titles on that list. I’m going to count this as a WIN, because my TBR shelves are at 54 books (SMALLER THAN LAST YEAR YAY!) and nearly all the books I read from them have been replaced with shiny new ones.

As for goal number 2, that was a bit fat fail. I don’t think I read a single title from that list all year. I need to rethink what I want to do with the list and whether it’s something I should continue working on. Thankfully goal number 3 was a rousing success. I didn’t join a single reading challenge all year, and it was wonderful to just read what I want, when I want. That’s not to say that I didn’t place any limitations on what I read (see: goal 1), but I didn’t feel the pressure that challenges usually put on me. Don’t get me wrong, reading challenges can be great and I’ve read a lot of books I wouldn’t have otherwise considered because of them. But they added some unnecessary stress to my bookish life – and it’s impossible to just join one! Once I start joining challenges, I seem to have to join them all.

So, my goals for 2012?

1) Read down the TBR shelves. More specifically, reduce the number of books on my shelves by more than one. Ideally, I would like to have the list whittled down to the point that all my TBR books fit on one shelf.
2) Don’t join any reading challenges. I think another year without specific challenges would do some good.
3) Read more classics. I have Sense & Sensibility, Mansfield Park, Hunchback of Notre Dame, and Treasure Island all sitting on my shelves – I could easily read all of those this year, right?

Have you set any 2012 reading goals for yourself?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 11:10 am

    I hope I can find things I want to read to fit into my reading challenges (they’re a bit broad). I can only hope though, haha. What are you reading right now?

  2. January 4, 2012 12:00 pm

    Now those are my kind of goals :)

  3. January 4, 2012 12:56 pm

    I like your positive attitude! You did actually reduce your TBR shelf ;)

    Very good goals. One of mine is to spend the year reading predominately TBR books piled around my house. The very few challenges I’m joining will allow me to read from my TBR collection, so that is a plus. And the Clarissa group read is based on a personal reading goal anyway – I’ll just have friends along for the read!

  4. January 4, 2012 8:02 pm

    Congratulations on steadily working down the TBR pile! I had a similar resolution last year and was quite pleased with my efforts. My goal is to ultimately have not more than 5 books on my TBR shelf!….I’m hoping to accomplish that this year. :D

    You make not joining challenges sound like something to be desired. I guess you’re right when you say the pressure is otherwise on. Let me see how I do this year. I completed all the challenges I signed for last year and read some really good stuff.

    All the best with all the reading in 2012! :)

  5. January 4, 2012 8:18 pm

    Yeah, on working down the read the books I own pile. I have this goal every year and I end up reading a few but I keep on getting more! Good luck this year. Looking forward to your reviews!

  6. January 5, 2012 6:36 am

    I like the idea of getting the TBR books to fit on one shelf! I’m doing a similar challenge where I’m trying to read all my books acquired before 2011. *gulp*

  7. January 6, 2012 12:44 pm

    You did great this year! I always love reading your Soundtrack Saturdays.

    I think TBR shelves are neverending! I loved Anna and the French Kiss. Stephanie Perkins’ follow up, Lola and the Boy Next Door, was adorable too.

I <3 Comments

