Skip to content

Tune in Tuesday (12.13.11)

December 13, 2011

Tune in Tuesday is hosted by GReads and is meant to showcase music we love, old and new. I’ll be featuring songs I’ve come across here and there that I think EVERYONE should be introduced to :)

I’m back with more music! It’s concert month over at GReads, and I didn’t have to think long on who I was going to feature first. There are a few bands I’ve seen multiple times, and Jimmy Eat World is top two for most times. I’ve seen them 5 times in the last 10 (oh jeez) years – and would have been 6 if hubby & I hadn’t been out of town for our anniversary trip earlier this year when JEW came to town.

In the summer of 2001, I was fresh out of high school and looking forward to going to EdgeFest, primarily to see New Found Glory and Blink 182. The week before the show, I was going through the line up and came across a band I hadn’t heard of, Jimmy Eat World. My first thought was “what a silly name,” but I decided to take a listen to their new album, Bleed American, anyway. I was immediately hooked. EdgeFest was definitely a fun day, and when Jimmy Eat World hit the stage I was entranced. Since then I’ve gone to see them play whenever possible – even paying big bucks just to see their 20-min opening set for Green Day.

These are two of my favourite songs, which are always even more fantastic live.

For me this is heaven:

A Praise Chorus:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 1:09 pm

    Really enjoyed listening to these songs! I used to be obsessed with The Middle by them when I first heard it! I even forced all my friends to listen to it. Great picks!

  2. December 13, 2011 7:33 pm

    Oh how I enjoy “A Praise Chorus” — definitely my favorite of their songs!

    My pick for this week is here: http://christina-reads.livejournal.com/181740.html.

  3. December 13, 2011 9:09 pm

    I am a HUGE fan of Jimmy Eat World… oh my word, I love them. I was going to see them this last September, but it fell through. I was pretty crushed. They’re so amazing and I’m so glad you’ve been able to see them live!! Lucky. :) Thanks for sharing!

    My concert edition for this week! So excited… :)

I <3 Comments

