Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (11.13.11)

November 13, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Squealing Pigs by Admiral Fallow
2. Beth/Rest by Bon Iver
3. Red Heart by Hey Rosetta!
4. Elephant In The Room (Morgan Page Remix) by Richard Walters
5. To You I Bestow by Mundy

iTunes|Starbucks Pick of the Week: Hurts Like Heaven by Coldplay. You know, I used to really be into Coldplay. I remember rifling through the Alternative section at Music World for the lone copy of Parachutes in stock, right before they blew up. I miss those days. Not because they were unknown, but because the music was so good. I just played the first part of this song and said to my husband “It’s new Coldplay.” His response: “Really? It sounds like a commercial.”

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. November’s host is the Mailbox Monday blog.

I had some time to kill before meeting up with some friends after work on Thursday, and I found this lovely little used bookstore close to my work. It’s soooooo lovely. I managed to limit my purchase to two books, but I will be back there many times in the future.

Princess in Training by Meg Cabot. (Ugh, I know. But I only have one more book left in my 3-in-1 volume, and I know I’m going to want the next ones on hand, so I’m stocking up now.)
The Spanish Bride by Georgette Heyer. (After reading Faro’s Daughter in July, I now want to read All The Heyers. This store seems to be a good place to find random Heyers.)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
nothing

Posted:
The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Currently Reading:
The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
Zombies vs Unicorns edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier

Up Next: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 5:42 pm

    I want to like Heyer. For some reason, I just can’t. I don’t know why.

    Here is mine

  2. November 13, 2011 6:33 pm

    You have some good ones on your list. I think The American Heiress is one I’d like to read. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  3. November 13, 2011 6:38 pm

    I like Admiral Fallow. Haven’t heard them before.

  4. Chris permalink
    November 13, 2011 6:49 pm

    Some Heyers are definitely better than others. The one I read was awful, but I hear there are good ones. Sounds like FARO’S DAUGHTER is one to try. The title isn’t a misspelling of PHARAOH, is it?

    I was against the Princess books until I actually read them. They’re so much fun! I love Meg Cabot. Have to read her new YA, ABANDON.

    Great books! Thanks for the recs.

    • November 13, 2011 7:02 pm

      Nope! I thought it was a misspelling at first, too, but it turns out Faro is the name of a card game.

  5. November 13, 2011 7:20 pm

    You are gonna love “Miss Peregrine” I really enjoyed it. Creepy but wonderful :)

    http://brunettelibrarian.blogspot.com/

  6. November 13, 2011 7:30 pm

    Zombies vs Unicorns sounds interesting, I added it to my TBR list.

    I do like the new Coldplay album, but I feel like I’ve been growing in the same direction as them musically. All I had to do is hear a bit of Every Teardrop is a Waterfall and I knew I’d love the new album. And then Paradise totally won me over again :)

  7. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    November 13, 2011 9:37 pm

    I am an 80’s tragic when it comes to music but I do like Coldplay. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs has been very popular – I’ve been meaning to check if my library has it.
    Enjoy your reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  8. November 13, 2011 9:37 pm

    Enjoy the Peculiar Children… I really want to read that one.

  9. November 13, 2011 10:24 pm

    I have to admit that I’ve lost my love of Coldplay too over the years. Right now, the song I can’t get out of my head is “Losing Your Memory” by Ryan Star. Love it!

  10. November 13, 2011 10:59 pm

    I love Georgette Heyer’s regency books. :) I’ve been wanting to read any of Meg Cabot’s books as they all sound so fun… happy reading…

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  11. November 14, 2011 4:33 am

    Princess in Training actually sounds rather cute to me. Enjoy your new books!

  12. November 14, 2011 5:53 am

    Love Georgette Heyer! Between a FOL sale and a lucky find at a UBS I was able to get almost all of hers. I really liked Arabella. Happy reading :)

  13. November 14, 2011 6:21 am

    I really liked Miss Peregrine – have a great week!

  14. November 14, 2011 8:10 am

    Meg Cabot’s books are a lot of fun – have you read the Queen of Babble series? I really liked that one.

    Have a good week!

  15. November 14, 2011 8:11 am

    I loved Miss Peregrine’s it was really weird and quirky but fun! You have a wonderful reading week! :)

  16. November 14, 2011 9:20 am

    I am working on The American Heiress now. It’s good but very detailed. I am looking forward to read Miss Peregrine’s too. I have heard nothing but great things about it. I hope we both enjoy it.

  17. November 14, 2011 9:30 am

    The Spanish Bride looks interesting, enjoy! your books.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2011/11/mailbox-monday_14.html

  18. November 14, 2011 2:27 pm

    Good luck with your reading. It was a good week for finishing wishlist books. But playing with the new recommendation feature on GoodReads has added even more books to the list! Please come see what I’m wishing for this week.

  19. November 14, 2011 3:28 pm

    I like your playlist. Good songs. I understand what you mean with Coldplay, but this latest album of theirs has really grown on me. I like it well. I do admit though, it took several…several…playings before I got to that point.

  20. November 14, 2011 3:55 pm

    Enjoy your new books!

  21. November 15, 2011 2:52 pm

    Heyer has been my comfort read always!

I <3 Comments

