Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (10.30.11)

October 30, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. All at Sea by Richard Walters
2. Elephant In The Room (Morgan Page Remix) by Richard Walters
3. Mecha Love by Hadouken
4. Eyes Wide Open by Gotye
5. Beth/Rest by Bon Iver

iTunes|Starbucks Pick of the Week: My Starbucks has been out of cards the last two times I’ve been in :(

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. October’s host is Serena @ Savvy Verse & Wit.

On Saturday I went to see Maureen Johnson, and I brought my copy of The Name of the Star along to be signed, but it would have felt wrong to leave the store without buying a book. So, I picked up the one book I’m missing by her buddy John Green:

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

However, I wouldn’t have gone home completely empty handed, because Lindsay was kind enough to lend one of her books to me, which she brought along to the signing:

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
After You by Julie Buxbaum

Posted:
Jonathan Strage & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Currently Reading:
Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot
Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Up Next: Just concentrating on these two for now!

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 4:20 pm

    A Meg Cabot streak? Right on :)

    • October 30, 2011 7:47 pm

      I have the first 3 books in the series in one volume – it was impossible to stop after just one!

  2. October 30, 2011 8:06 pm

    I’ve heard such good things about The Princess Diaries, I can’t wait to get the chance to read it!

  3. October 30, 2011 8:14 pm

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Daughter of Smoke & Bone! I can’t wait to see what you think of it! Enjoy your week!

  4. October 30, 2011 8:40 pm

    Meg Cabot week huh? :) I just read Abandon by her…loved it!

  5. October 30, 2011 10:28 pm

    Secret Live of People in Love sounds interesting. ;)

    Follower. Come see my Monday! Have a great week!

  6. October 30, 2011 11:04 pm

    I had a very slow week of reading. Please come see what I did finish.

  7. October 30, 2011 11:51 pm

    I am glad you enjoyed Jonathan Strange in the end. I loved that book. I am one of the ones who also enjoyed the footnotes. They almost became a story themselves rather than just supplementing the main text.

  8. October 31, 2011 1:57 am

    I’ve heard great things about Name of the Star. Enjoy your books.

  9. October 31, 2011 3:07 am

    I got a few books of late (see my post). Listening to not a lot as my drive is pretty short. I do love Gotye though!

  10. October 31, 2011 3:26 am

    I haven’t read any John Green books yet. I really think I should change that soon. I’ve heard so many good things about him. The signing sounds fun. Happy reading!

  11. October 31, 2011 4:36 am

    Oh, I bet that Maureen Johnson event was loads of fun! Enjoy your new book!

  12. October 31, 2011 4:42 am

    I have The Name of the Star somewhere in Mount TBR. I’m a new follower of your blog…I can hardly wait to read your thoughts on Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Happy reading :)

    Here’s the link to my monday post….

    http://moretalesfromthecrypt.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/my-week-in-review-2/

  13. October 31, 2011 4:56 am

    Author signings can be such fun. Enjoy.

  14. October 31, 2011 6:22 am

    I read and enjoyed After You….I’ve been noticing The Name of the Star and I’m very curious. Hope you enjoy your reading.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  15. October 31, 2011 6:45 am

    I keep eyeballing Daughter of Smoke and Bone..I’m kinda curious. Sounds like you have a great week of reading ahead of you! :)

  16. October 31, 2011 7:06 am

    Looks like a good line up for your week. Enjoy the books :)

  17. October 31, 2011 7:18 am

    I love going to author events. Enjoy your reading!

  18. October 31, 2011 7:33 am

    I wish we had author events near us. I’ll bet they are a lot of fun! Enjoy your new reads.

  19. October 31, 2011 9:22 am

    I stopped by your blog today.
    Ann

  20. October 31, 2011 2:47 pm

    I loved The Princess Diaries movie. I assume the book is the same one? Have a good week.

  21. October 31, 2011 6:13 pm

    I’ve been hearing good things about the Laini Taylor book all the over the place, so I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!

    The other day I finished Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and am attempting to write a review of it, and then I picked up Catherynne Valente’s The Folded World, so now I’m way too distracted by that to write my review of the Morgenstern. Sigh.

  22. October 31, 2011 7:39 pm

    Hi – I looked at the top five items and thought “I don’t know a single one of those books or authors.” Then I realized it was music. :-)
    I do know some of the books you are reading. I have a Meg Cabot book but haven’t read her yet.
    I am hoping to read or listen to Daughter of Smoke & Bones soon. The buzz sounds good.
    Enjoy your week.

  23. November 1, 2011 10:03 am

    I’m looking forward to also reading The Name of the Star and Daughters of Smoke & Bone. Your so very lucky to have been able to meet Maureen Johnson! I LOVE having my books signed :D

I <3 Comments

