Skip to content

Fall 2011 Read-a-thon Updates

October 22, 2011

I’ll be updating this post throughout the read-a-thon. Scroll down to the bottom for current stats! You can also find me on Twitter and Cheering all around the blogosphere. Go Team Trix!

What’s going on here today, you ask? This is what’s going on! Regular scheduled programing returns on Sunday…. maybe Monday. Definitely by Tuesday.

.

5:00 am – Hour 1
If wordpress followed my instructions, it is currently 5 am and the Fall 2011 Readathon has officially begun! And if I’m not awake yet, I should be shortly – I usually wake up before my alarm goes off on readathon days :)

While we’re waiting for me to stagger out of bed, feel free to grab an Oatmeal Breakfast Cookie and let’s take a look at my readathon stacks.

The Library Books:
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
 by Kate DiCamillo
French Milk
 by Lucy Knisley
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life
 by Bryan Lee O’Malley
The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood

The TBR Shelf Books:
The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams
After You by Julie Buxbaum (Currently in the middle of this, so I might just leave it for the day and pick up again next week.)
Princess Diaries Collection by Meg Cabot (First 3 books in the Princess series, but I’m just aiming to read one today.)
Through The Looking Glass by Carroll
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Middle Grade! YA! Graphic Novels! Short Stories! It’s gonna be a good day :) My plan is to start with The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane and save Scott Pilgrim for when I can no longer stand staring at pages full of sentences. Other than that, my readathon plans are pretty open. I do know that at most I will read 4 of these books, but Readathon is all about having options. Many many options.

Hope you’re off to a great start!

EDIT: 5:02 am – I’m awake! Let’s read!

7:02 am – Hour 3 (In Which I Eat First Breakfast)

The day is off to a pretty great start, if sleepy, start. I finished my first book, which is exciting. Middle Grade was definite a good choice for readathon :)

Reading: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Munching: A nice thick slice of bread fresh from the breadmaker & Earl Grey
Listening: the rain – it’s dark & rainy out, perfect readathon weather!

Books finished: 1
*The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Total pages read: 200
Total reading time: 1hr 19min
Total cheer comments: 12

10:07 am – Hour 6 (In Which I Eat First Second Breakfast)

The last 3 hours have been a bit slow going, but I’m really liking Ella Enchanted. Now time for a quick shower and then more reading & cheering!

Reading: Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Munching: Chocolate Chip Pancakes, made by the husband
Listening: Nothing but silence

Books finished: 1
*The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Total pages read: 287
Total reading time: 3hr 12min
Total cheer comments: 26

1:43 pm – Hour 9 (Lunch Time!)

I finished my second book! Hooray! I finished Ella Enchanted and it was oh so lovely – and oh so different from the movie. But I’ve been neglecting my cheering duties, so before any more reading gets done, it’s off to visit more of you lovely readathon participants.

Reading: I was going to jump into The Secret Lives of People in Love next, but I think I might go with French Milk instead. My eyes are in need of some pictures.
Munching: Chicken Fajita. Delicious.
Listening: In The Waiting Line by Zero 7

Books finished: 2
*The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
*Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Total pages read: 432
Total reading time: 5hr 46min
Total cheer comments: 26

4:07 pm – Hour 12 (Healthy Snack Time!)

Reading: After my cheering break, I decided to read The Secret Lives of People in Love. Yep, that was a good choice. I just love his writing so much.
Munching: Apple slices & string cheese. Pulling out one healthy snack so I can fill my evening with wine & chocolate & popcorn.
Listening: Nothing. Although I love listening to music while reading, something about Van Booy’s writing begs to be read in silence.

Books finished: 2
*The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
*Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Total pages read: 476
Total reading time: 7hr 4min
Total cheer comments: 44

7:24 pm – Hour 15

Reading: I decided to read The Secret Lives of People in Love anyway, and it is really very lovely. But halfway through I realized I needed something a little lighter, so now I’m readingThe Princess Diaries.
Munching: Right now, a glass of white currant wine, but I just had pulled pork for dinner followed by a glass of egg nog. Yum!
Listening: Maybe You’re Gone by Sondre Lerche. Also – the dishwasher running.

Books finished: 2
*The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
*Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Total pages read: 563
Total reading time: 9hr 3min
Total cheer comments: 54

11:11 pm – Hour 19 (That’s All Folks!)

With French Milk finished, I’m packing it in. Thanks all for another fun readathon day!

Reading: Both The Secret Lives of People in Love and The Princess Diaries were put on hold, and I read French Milk instead. Pictures!
Munching: Since my last update – more wine, popcorn, and Kinder chocolate.
Listening: Beth/Rest by Bon Iver

Final Read-a-thon Stats:
Books finished: 3 whole + 2 halves
*The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
*Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
*French Milk by Lucy Knesley
*1/2 The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
*1/2 The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

Total pages read: 804
Total reading time: 11hrs 53min

Total cheer comments: 62
Total cheering time: 2hrs 6min

Total participation time: 13hrs 59min (not including Twitter time, working on blog posts, etc)


25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2011 5:08 am

    I read Ella Enchanted last readathon and have it on audio for this time around. French Milk is a fun, interesting book. I hope you enjoy your reading!!

  2. October 22, 2011 6:27 am

    You have some great books in your stacks! French Milk, Edward Tulane, Scott Pilgrim, and The Hitchhiker’s Guide are all fabulous reads! Happy reading!

  3. October 22, 2011 6:48 am

    Ha! I love how you scheduled this post. I admit that this time I had to hit snooze a few times before convincing myself to roll out of bed.

    Enjoy those breakfast cookies and READATHON!!!

  4. October 22, 2011 6:50 am

    The Van Booy short stories are wonderful – hope you’ll enjoy them! Looks like we’re in the same time zone – hope you’re more awake then I am at this point!!!

  5. October 22, 2011 7:16 am

    Lots of good looking books! Happy reading.

  6. October 22, 2011 7:43 am

    You’re on a roll! I haven’t read Ella Enchanted in years, but I remember I really liking it!

  7. October 22, 2011 7:54 am

    You have some great books to choose from! Also, you are making me drool with all this talk of food. Have an awesome day!!

  8. October 22, 2011 7:55 am

    Have a good RAT from france ! *o* *o* *o*

  9. October 22, 2011 7:57 am

    Here’s my cheer comment!!!! Woot woot!!! Go!!!!

  10. October 22, 2011 8:29 am

    Great book selections! And it’s great to hear you have treats lined up, too. That’s key to happiness on Read-a-Thon day.

  11. October 22, 2011 8:48 am

    You are in the same time zone, but definitely in a different weather zone! Rainy. I love rain. especially when I’m reading. I’ll need to come back and look up some of those books on your stack that I’m not familiar with. Looks like some good reading to me! I agree with starting out with some middle grade reading. Exactly what I’m doing :) Enjoy.

  12. October 22, 2011 8:59 am

    Perfect wetcoast weather for a readathon! Here’s a big cheer from your Mom.

  13. October 22, 2011 9:05 am

    5 am start time, ouch.Looks like you’re off to a great start, I’ve never read the princess diaries, but want to. May have too sometime. Good luck!

  14. October 22, 2011 9:07 am

    Here to cheer! You’re off to a great start, with a completed book already! Yay!

  15. October 22, 2011 1:56 pm

    Chocolate chip pancakes? I am so jealous! Have a great readathon!

  16. October 22, 2011 2:23 pm

    Can I read with you in virtual solidarity for a couple of hours? I’ll be on my couch reading “The Little Princess”, drinking tea and sending out the occasional cheer.

  17. Sherry permalink
    October 22, 2011 2:25 pm

    Your food photos are making me hungry again, and I just had lunch! Looks like you have some great books on tap. I also have A Wrinkle in Time in my stack (it’s a BIG stack, so I’m not sure I’ll get to it!)

  18. October 22, 2011 2:37 pm

    Your chicken fajita looks good! Happy eating and reading!

  19. October 22, 2011 2:45 pm

    How can I not love someone who eats breakfast twice? I live for food…and books! Oh, and oatmeal breakfasts=win. Happy reading and eating.

  20. October 22, 2011 3:26 pm

    Wooow you’re doing great!! :) Hope you’re having fun! :)

    Happy reading!

  21. October 22, 2011 5:49 pm

    You seem to be doing well. Eating well too! If I were better organized, maybe I’d set up wordpress to post for me.. but ah, that will never happen! :D

  22. October 22, 2011 8:53 pm

    Egg nog! Yum. It’s one of my favorite things of the holiday season!

  23. Sherry permalink
    October 23, 2011 10:33 am

    Thanks for stopping by to cheer me on during the R-A-T. Looks like you had a successful reading day yourself!

  24. October 23, 2011 12:01 pm

    Thanks for stopping by to cheer me on during the read-a-thon. It was a lot of fun and the encouragement always helps. Love your pictures of your food – the most important part of the day. :) Looks like you read some great books. Hate to admit it, but I did’t even know Ella Enchanted was a book. Now I’m going to have to check it out. Thanks again! Good to meet you.

  25. October 27, 2011 9:52 am

    Oh wow, you did great with the readathon. I probably will participate with it next year. I will remember to add some graphic novels and middle grade books to the tbr list.

I <3 Comments

