Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (10.09.11)

October 9, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. We Have Your Head by Richard Walters (I could only find a live version of the song online, but I love the lyrics: There’s a hole in my head/who let you in?)
2. All at Sea by Richard Walters (hold me/fold me up in your arms <3)
3. Crawl Up To My Room by Richard Walters
4. Elephant in the Room by Richard Walters
5. Brittle Bones by Richard Walters

iTunes|Starbucks Pick of the Week: Bittersweet Melodies by Feist. Feist is another artist I never really got into, despite how hugely she exploded a couple years ago. I’m not completely sold on this song yet, but it seems the more I listen to it the more I like it.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. October’s host is Serena @ Savvy Verse & Wit.

About a month ago, maybe even more, I went on a bookdepository.com shopping spree and my purchases have been slowly trickling in ever since. I think this is the last of them, it was just waiting to be released.

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

I read 13 Little Blue Envelops a couple months ago, and while I didn’t love it, I knew that I wanted to read more stuff by Maureen Johnson. So when the first few chapters of her new book were made available online I immediate checked them out. By the time I finished the prologue & first chapter, I knew this was a book I had to own. Cannot wait to read it!

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Nothing :(

Posted:
Reviewathon! Oct 14-16 *I’m doing a Reviewathon next weekend! Want to join in?
Wrapping Up September 2011

Currently Reading:
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (sooooo close to finishing!)
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Up Next: Probably The Name of the Star :)

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 3:12 pm

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The Little Princess!

  2. October 9, 2011 8:09 pm

    The Name of the Star is on my TBR list – I need to get to it, it looks so fantastic! Can’t wait to see what you think of Shadow of the Wind!

  3. October 9, 2011 8:33 pm

    going to look into this reviewathon, sounds like something I might need!!

    Come check out our It’s Monday! What are you reading? if you get a chance… Crazy Book Slut

  4. October 9, 2011 10:23 pm

    I’ve never read A Little Princess. I guess it was a pretty normal week of reading for me. Please come see what I’ve read.

  5. October 10, 2011 3:07 am

    I loved Shadow of the Wind and A Little Princess. Hope you are enjoying them too. A Little Princess was one of my favourites growing up. I don’t know how many times I read it.

  6. October 10, 2011 5:17 am

    Wish I could join you in the reviewathon but I’m away for the weekend :(
    Have a great week and happy reading!

  7. October 10, 2011 5:46 am

    The Name Of The Star is one I would like to read too. Have a super week!

  8. October 10, 2011 5:46 am

    I remember reading A Little Princess when I was a little girl and loved it. I have thought about reading it again. Hope you are enjoying it.

    Stop by my It’s Monday post if you get a chance.

  9. October 10, 2011 7:45 am

    I must check out Maureen Johnson’s books. Thanks for sharing…and enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  10. October 10, 2011 9:26 am

    I love A Little Princess :D I’m also looking forward to getting a copy of The Name of the Star.

  11. October 10, 2011 10:29 am

    I liked the Little Princess!

  12. October 10, 2011 10:59 am

    I have never heard of Richard Walters before. I assume I should give him a try?

  13. October 10, 2011 11:04 am

    Ooooh, the Reviewathon sounds fun! I will have to check it out!

    This week I’m reading @ Mom Reads My Books

  14. October 10, 2011 11:13 am

    Yes. I was just going to echo what Iris just said. Perhaps Richard Walters needs a listen.

  15. October 10, 2011 11:56 am

    I haven’t read any of Maureen Johnson’s books. I should check them out since so many seem to really enjoy them.

  16. October 10, 2011 3:50 pm

    I hope you enjoy The Name of the Star!

  17. October 10, 2011 4:01 pm

    Reviewathon is a great idea! Unfortunately, I’ll be out of town I’ll of that weekend. I heard some good things about The Name of the Star — hope you like it!

  18. October 10, 2011 8:19 pm

    I really want to read The Name of the Star too! I’ve only read Scarlett by Maureen Johnson and while it was only okay for me, I was told it wasn’t her best work. I’ve loved her blog and twitter so I really want to read something else. I have 13 little blue enveloppes on my TBR pile.

  19. October 11, 2011 11:23 am

    Happy reading.

  20. October 12, 2011 9:29 pm

    The Shadow of the Wind looks very interesting. I’ll be interested in your thoughts. Have a grand week and enjoy your reviewathon. If that is a weekend of writing reviews I should join in. :-)

I <3 Comments

