Skip to content

Wrapping Up September 2011

October 5, 2011

When I wrote my Summer wrap up a month ago, I kept thinking ‘Whew, I can’t wait until summer is over so I can relax in the regular routine of Fall.’ Because for some reason I forgot that ‘regular routine’ is synonymous with ‘regular very much busyness.’ Once I got over the shock of still having lots to do, I fell back into my old routines of sneaking in reading time whenever possible (ie. ignoring that growing pile of dirty dishes). I was even able to squeeze in some after work reading time at our lovely downtown library.

September also brought about the second ever meeting of the VanCity ForeverYA book club. The September book was Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, which, awesome name, right? And purely by coincidence, the bar we chose to meet in was decorated with ravens and had cocktails with names like Lord Nelson’s Blood (which was disappointingly lacking in blood colouring). Also, through this evening I learned that Raych, whose blog books i done read I’ve been enamoured with for the last 2 yeas, lives almost literally down the street from me. Any other Vancouver-area bloggers out there? *peers through window blinds* [Edit: between writing and posting this, I’ve met another blogger who lives nearby. There are more out there!]

One thing that I forgot to mention in my summer wrap up post is that thanks to Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (YES I’m still talking about it and YES I have yet to start writing any kind of review of it), my reading habits have slightly changed. I used to be a strictly monogamous, one book at a time kind of girl, but that became impossible when faced with carting that 800-page hardcover tome to work each day. I could either bring Strange or lunch, and lunch won out by a long shot. So I picked another book too read on my way to work (and another and another) and left Strange for reading at home (except for the one time I brought it to the beach… not an ideal beach read). And guess what? It turns out that not only can my brain process more than one story at a time (surprise!), it likes it! So I’ve kept with it and have found that even though it’s taking me longer to finish books, I’m actually reading more than I was before. Yay! There’s something wonderful about reading one book throughout the day and still looking forward to delving into another story in the evening.

Coming up in October there are two events I’m looking forward to. First off, the 24 Readathon! I don’t think I can accurately express just how excited I am for it. For me, it’s not just a day to read and eat snacks, it’s one in which I can be part of a larger community and it really feels like an all day party. But, how you feel about it really depends on how much you put in to it. This will be my 5th time participating (that seems like awfully large number) and again I will be reading & cheering. For me, cheering is an essential part of the ‘thon, interacting with the tons of other people who are also participating. Otherwise, I think the Readathon would feel pretty lonely.

Anyway, after 4 Readathons I feel like I’ve finally learned how to do it properly – at least in a way that works for me.
Short books = good.
Short books with pictures= great.
Long books, even long YA = bad.
Many short breaks to cheer & tweet = fantastic.
Many delicious snacks on hand that require minimal preparation = absolutely necessary.

The weekend before the Readathon, I’m hosting my very first event – a Reviewathon! Even after all those snippet posts, I’m still pretty behind in my reviews and would like to be all caught up before the Readathon hits. So, if you’re free at all from Oct 14 – 16 and need to write some reviews, please join in! If you’re not able to join but would like to help me spread the word, I would be very very grateful :)

Alright, finally on to what I actually read in September.

Finished:
You Know When The Men Are Gone by Siobhan Fallon
Persuasion by Jane Austen
The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
The Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz
Record Collecting for Girls by Courtney E. Smith

Posted:
In Whicn I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 3
Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy
In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 4

Soundtrack Saturdays:
The American Heiress
The Last Unicorn

How as your September? Did you have a favourite book?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 3:38 pm

    I just have to say, if you have any plans to reread Jonathan Strange in the future, can I recommend getting the three-volume copy? It comes in an adorable little box and consists of three smallish paperback books. Unless you are able to sit down and read the whole book on your couch, it is miles easier to have three little books than one massive book. I got the three-volume version at Barnes & Noble on sale for $6 and TOTALLY was the best B&N bargain shelves buy I’ve ever made.

    • October 5, 2011 4:40 pm

      How did I not know about this? I think I would have enjoyed it much more if it had been broken up into 3 different books. If I ever come across the 3-book volume, it is mine. Just so that I can try it again in smaller batches.

  2. October 5, 2011 6:01 pm

    Ooo, it would be fabulous in 3 volumes. I would buy that!

  3. October 6, 2011 6:54 am

    I’ve also found that I end up reading more books total when I read a few at a time, even if it takes me a bit longer to read one in particular. I used to very strict about one-book-at-a-time but now that I’ve switched, I’m actually having a hard time keeping the volume of books down. I think I have 5 going right now. Yikes. Oh, and I’m off to the library today to look for some good Readathon books. Your suggestions are very helpful!

Trackbacks

  1. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (Thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

