Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

October 1, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
Hidden in the heart of the old city of Barcelona is the ‘cemetery of lost books’, a labyrinthine library of obscure and forgotten titles that have long gone out of print. To this library, a man brings his 10-year-old son Daniel one cold morning in 1945. Daniel is allowed to choose one book from the shelves and pulls out The Shadow of the Wind by Julian Carax.
But as he grows up, several people seem inordinately interested in his find. Then, one night, as he is wandering the old streets once more, Daniel is approached by a figure who reminds him of a character from The Shadow of the Wind, a character who turns out to be the devil. This man is tracking down every last copy of Carax’s work in order to burn them. What begins as a case of literary curiosity turns into a race to find out the truth behind the life and death of Julian Carax and to save those he left behind.

 

Soundtrack Song: “Prelude 12/21” by AFI
It almost feels like cheating to pick the very first song on my iTunes library. But I don’t think I could find a song better suited to Daniel’s stumbling through the rain-drenched Barcelona night, heartbroken, angry, confused, and scared for his life.

I promise to depart, just promise one thing…

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 8:56 am

    The Shadow of the Wind is in this month’s reading pile for the R.I.P. Challenge. I’ll be sure to keep this post in mind when I start to read it. :-)

    • October 1, 2011 9:03 pm

      Ooooh it would be a perfect book for the R.I.P. Challenge. Enjoy it!

  2. October 4, 2011 8:05 am

    What a flipping cool song. Awesome beat.

  3. October 14, 2011 3:26 am

    After reading the excerpt you posted above, I decided I must read this book. And then I found it at the local used book shop. How positively serendipitous! (Have fun with the reviewathon this weekend! I’m holding my very own personal researchathon, a/k/a homework, otherwise I’d definitely be joining.)

    • October 14, 2011 6:31 pm

      Wonderful! I hope you enjoy it. Hehe have fun with your researchathon :)

Trackbacks

  1. Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (Thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

