Skip to content

Impromptu Readathon

September 30, 2011

At this point, I probably need a Reviewathon more than I do a Readathon, but when April mentioned on twitter yesterday that we was thinking of hosting an impromptu readathon this weekend I couldn’t resist. It’s a super laid back kind of ‘thon and runs from, well, now until Monday. So there’s still lots of time for you to join in!

I think I’ll only be able to join in on Sunday, and maybe a bit on Saturday, so my stack isn’t going to be anything near what my 24 Hr Readathon stack will be like. I want to focus on these:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón (which I’m working on right now but really needs to be read during dark, stormy weather)

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (re-read for book club)

The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Have a bit of time to read this weekend? Go ahead and sign up for the Impromptu Readathon :)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 10:50 am

    Yay for Readothon!
    But I would so need a reviewathon, too. So many books still to review! There hasn’t been a bloggiesta yet this fall so maybe I’ll give myself a little push and have a review weekend next week!

    • September 30, 2011 3:05 pm

      I’m thinking a reviewathon weekend might be in order soon, especially with the 24hr readathon coming up!

  2. September 30, 2011 11:28 am

    I read this and was all, MY book club is reading Anna and the French Kiss!

    Dear God.

    • September 30, 2011 3:07 pm

      Coincidences! I think our book clubs might even be meeting on the same day, too.

  3. September 30, 2011 11:36 am

    You should host a reviewathon! I’d be all over that. I have a monster backlog of reviews to write and type (some I managed to jot down notes) that it’s become scary. Can’t even think about it. although, a readathon would help me get through some of the books in my pile too…

    • September 30, 2011 3:07 pm

      I’m thinking I might just host one in a couple weeks. I’ll keep you posted!

  4. September 30, 2011 12:23 pm

    I am in the middle of a re-read right now of Jane Bites Back by Michael Thomas Ford. Perhaps on Sunday I can take the time to read more than 5 or so pages at a time.

    • September 30, 2011 3:09 pm

      That’s kind of what my goal for Sunday is, too. Hopefully you can get some long, uninterrupted reading time in!

  5. She permalink
    September 30, 2011 4:22 pm

    Oooooh, The Shadow of the Wind… most definitely a stormy weather read!

    • October 1, 2011 9:00 pm

      I’m kind of excited that there’s lots of rain in the forecast next week for this very reason.

  6. September 30, 2011 6:22 pm

    Oo fun. I have yet to do a readathon. The Little Princess is awesome. I saw the movie as a kid (who can resist Shirley Temple?) but I read the book for a Children’s Lit class is college and loved it, too. Have fun!

    • October 1, 2011 9:02 pm

      Are you going to do the 24hr Readathon this month? It’s lots of fun – you should join in!

      I think I’ve only seen The Little Princess Once, and that was a long time ago. Definitely looking forward to finally reading it, although it looks like it might not happen this weekend. I’ll have to save it for the next readathon :)

  7. October 1, 2011 11:15 am

    Oh this sounds fuuun. I wish I had the time to do it. But I am horrible at readathons. I need time after each book to absorb it totally. You didn’t go to the signing? We should meet up for coffee and books some day soon. :D

    • October 1, 2011 9:05 pm

      I looooove readathons. I wish I could do one every weekend. Well, maybe at least once every month.

      I did go to the signing – it was lots of fun! Too bad you had to miss out. But yes, let get together soon! Shoot me an email and we’ll make it happen :)

  8. October 2, 2011 1:58 pm

    I thought about joining in, but I only found out about the Readathon last night. I already had enough on my schedule for today that I couldn’t really read the day away, as much as I wanted to! I’ll just have to wait for the big readathon in a few weeks. I hope you get your books read!

Trackbacks

  1. The Sunday Salon – Slow « Just Book Reading

I <3 Comments

