Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (09.25.11)

September 25, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Somebody That I Used To Know (feat. Kimbra) by Gotye
2. Don’t Worry, We’ll Be Watching You by Gotye
3. Eyes Wide Open by Gotye
4. To You I Bestow by Mundy (Oh gosh I love this song and I really wish he’d record an acoustic version because this? It is amazing. This song would show up on this list a lot more often if last.fm counted youtube plays.)
5. Easy Way Out by Gotye

iTunes Pick of the Week: Just a Kiss by Lady Antebellum. It’s not what I usually listen to, but I like it. I only listened to it quickly after downloading on Friday, but it will definitely get more listens in the coming weeks.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. September’s host is Amused @ Amused by Books.

I went on a bit of a BookDepository.com shopping spree a little while ago, so books have slowly been trickling in over the last week and a bit. I think I only have on more coming..

The Last Unicorn by Peter S Beagle (I put my old copy in an earthquake survival pack [comfort reading – v. important in the aftermath of an emergency] so obviously I needed a new copy for my bookshelf.)
Record Collecting for Girls by Courtney E. Smith
All My Friends Are Dead by Avery Monsen and Jory John (This was for the husband and it is hilarious.)

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I went to the library and managed to leave with only one book. Hooray!

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The girls in my book club were raving about it when we got together in August, so I immediately put it on hold at the library and it just came in last week. I’ve heard lots of good things about it so I’m excited to get started.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz
The Last Unicorn by Peter S Beagle

Posted:
In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 4
Soundtrack Saturday – The Last Unicorn

Currently Reading: Record Collecting for Girls by Courtney E. Smith

Up Next: The Shadow of the Wind! I plan on starting right after I post this.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 3:05 pm

    Shadow of the Wind is on my TBR list – can’t wait to see if you like it!

  2. September 25, 2011 3:05 pm

    Wow, I haven’t listened to that soundtrack in years and years. And I’d completely forgotten how much I love To You I Bestow. Thank you for the reminder!

  3. September 25, 2011 3:15 pm

    These all look intriguing…hope you enjoy them!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. September 25, 2011 3:17 pm

    I’ve never heard of that book. Good luck!

  5. September 25, 2011 4:42 pm

    Ah…The Last Unicorn. That book brings back great memories. Enjoy your books!

    Diana @ Book of Secrets

  6. September 25, 2011 4:44 pm

    The Last Unicorn is your earthquake survival kit??? Alright now you have me curious – going to look up that one now.

  7. September 25, 2011 5:19 pm

    Enjoy your new books!

  8. September 25, 2011 6:26 pm

    Wonderful mailbox. I like the look of those. Have a great reading week.

    Come look at my haul this week!!

    Here is my post!

  9. September 25, 2011 7:01 pm

    I really like To You I Bestow. I was introduced to it thanks to that soundtrack. I hope you enjoy The Shadow of the Wind. I liked it.

  10. September 25, 2011 7:10 pm

    All My Friends Are Dead? Sounds interesting.

    Here is mine

  11. September 25, 2011 7:21 pm

    Enjoy them all.

  12. September 25, 2011 7:55 pm

    I am curious what you thought of Witches Of East End… I thought it had potential but in the end… not so much :)

  13. September 25, 2011 8:42 pm

    The Last Unicorn is a lovely book. I could do with a re-read of it. I had a great week of reading. I’m reading longer books now with my kids. Please come see what we’re reading.

  14. September 26, 2011 4:02 am

    Loved your plan of putting The Last Unicorn into your earthquake survival kit. For a while we had so many family members in the hospital that I had hospital survival kits ready and The Last Unicorn would have been a marvelous and comforting addition. Wish I’d thought of it – but you can only think of these things when you are NOT in the middle of the stress, I think.

  15. September 26, 2011 5:03 am

    I need to get back to the library–but between NetGalley and Kindle freebies, I have a backlog…

  16. September 26, 2011 5:42 am

    How fun to have your books trickle in like that! I hope you love them all!

  17. September 26, 2011 8:38 am

    If The Last Unicorn is in your earthquake survival kit it must be good I will have to check it out.

  18. September 26, 2011 9:48 am

    All looks amazing, my TBR list might be crying by the end of the day… all the new books I am adding to it! Happy Monday, hope it’s a great one!

    Stop by if you have a chance
    Crazy Book Slut

  19. September 29, 2011 12:28 am

    Hi there,

    Thanks for having left a comment on my blog a while ago. Maybe you want to check out my Oktoberfest giveaway (still open until October 2nd). It would be nice to welcome you back to my blog.

    Greetings from Munich, Germany,
    Birgit

    PS: I liked “Shadow of the Wind” — have lots of fun reading it! :)

I <3 Comments

