Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (09.12.11)

September 11, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Tomorrow Too Late by Saves The Day
2. You Can’t Hurry Love by The Supremes
3. Passing Afternoon by Iron & Wine
4. Fever Dream by Iron & Wine
5. Journal Of A Narcoleptic by Dan Mangan

All summer I thought that iTunes had done away with their Picks of the Week download cards at Starbucks because I didn’t see them anywhere. But maybe they were just on summer break? Because last week I went to two Starbucks and came away with two different download cards. Yay new tunes! The first card was for Police Dog Blues by Hugh Laurie, which I’m not all that fond of mostly because I’m not big into blues. The second card was for Deep Water by The Middle East, which is right up my alley. Expect to see it in upcoming top tunes lists, because it is going to get listened to lots.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I may have said something recently about needing to cut back on library books and read more of my own. Well… it’s just so hard when there are shelves and shelves of books just sitting there, free for the taking! This week I picked up two:

The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: You Know When the Men Are Gone by Siobhan Fallon

Posted:
In Wich I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 3

Currently Reading:
Persuasion by Jane Austen
The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Up Next: Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz and hopefully something from my tbr shelves.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 12:34 am

    I’ll be interested to see if you like the new De La Cruz book. I have mixed feelings about it. Still, it should be enjoyable I think. :)

    Hope you have a fabulous reading week and if you get a second stop by to see what I’ve been reading at There’s A Book! :)

  2. September 12, 2011 2:52 am

    The American Heiress sounds good.

  3. September 12, 2011 8:58 am

    Great reading here!! I need to read more Jane Austen!!

    HAPPY READING!!

  4. September 12, 2011 10:06 am

    I have Persuasion sitting on my bookshelf just waiting to be read along with a few other Jane Austen books – one of these days I will get to them!

    Stop by and see what I have going on this week at Always With a Book

  5. September 12, 2011 10:37 am

    Three-quarters of what I read this week was in the form of children’s picture books. Please come see what they were.

  6. September 12, 2011 5:53 pm

    I really like Passing Afternoon. Have you heard Gotye? I’m loving his songs at the moment. Especially his new one with Kimbra called Somebody that I Used to Know (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UVNT4wvIGY) and Hearts a Mess (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnXFJOXvL_A)

    • September 12, 2011 5:55 pm

      Whoops I posted from my other blog. If you want to check out my Monday list see it at booksinthesun.blogspot.com

    • September 13, 2011 3:37 pm

      Thank you thank you thank you! Loved the songs you recommended so much, I just bought Making Mirrors. Somebody That I Used To Know is going to be on repeat for a while, I can already tell.

I <3 Comments

