Skip to content

In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 3

September 7, 2011

In an attempt to get back into the bloggy swing of things, I’m going to work through my backlog with some ultra-mini snippet reviews. My feelings on these books in 5 sentences or less!
Part 1 Part 2

Ruffles on my Longjohns by Isabel Edwards
It’s 1932 and Earle Edwards suggests to his wife Isabel that they go, not South, but North to the BC wilderness for the winter – just one winter which, as these things do, turns into twenty years of homesteading in the middle of nowhere. I really liked the beginning of the book, with Isabel’s fear of snow and then slowly learning the ropes of farm life, and the end, where she had fully come into her own as a homesteader. The middle, however, I had some trouble with and ended up skipping large sections detailing the intricacies of farming, or fishing, or how to milk a cow. Overall, though, it was a fascinating account of the homestead life, of making something out of nothing – and told with such frankness and wit. All I can say is that Isabel Edwards was one brave woman.
My rating: 7/10
Soundtrack Saturday

Wedding Season by Katie Fforde
One wedding planner, one day, two weddings. This was my first foray into Katie Fforde’s books and it was an all around enjoyable book, perfect to read in the midst of going to my brother-in-law’s wedding and working on a friend’s wedding. One of the issues I had with it, though, was the main character, who just seemed to annoy me. Thankfully the book is written in multiple POV, and I really liked the two other characters who also tell their stories – also, I just really like weddings and will likely enjoy anything based around them. While Wedding Season didn’t necessarily make me want to run out and get all Fforde’s other books, I will keep an eye out for them at book sales for future summer reads.
My rating: 6.5/10
Soundtrack Saturday

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen
This was also a first for me – after witnessing countless swoons and gushes all over the blogosphere, I finally decided to read my very first Dessen. And the result: I think I would have loved it to bits when I was a teen, but even though I wasn’t blown away by it now I still sped through it in no time flat. It’s hard to explain exactly what didn’t work for me (especially now that it’s been more than a month since I finished it). For the most part I liked both Halley (even thought she made some not so smart decisions) and Scarlett, although I wish that there had been more Cameron – he seemed like a much more interesting character than Macon (by the way, how are you suppose pronounce that name? Does it rhyme with bacon?). Overall, Dessen definitely writes very readable contemporary YA and I’m looking forward to reading The Truth About Forever, which is waiting on my TBR shelf.
My rating: 6.5/10

Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve
I read Mortal Engines partly because it’s one of my husband’s favourites and partly because, I mean, CITIES THAT EAT EACH OTHER! The first thing I noticed, though, was that it read like a children’s book – not saying that’s necessarily bad or that it was dumbed down, just that the writing seemed simplified. Also, the narration sometimes switched from past to presence tense, which just kind of annoyed me. But – there was action and adventure and pain and hard choices and really great characters, and in the end I very much enjoyed it. Is it worth it to continue with the next book in the series? (Just learned that Peter Jackson is working on the movie adaptation – very excited to see how that turns out!)
My rating: 7.5/10

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 10:45 am

    I’m thinking I will have the same response to Dessen.

  2. September 7, 2011 3:27 pm

    I’m hoping the Peter Jackson adaptation of Mortal Engines comes out awesome. Maybe then I will reread the book and like it this time. I’ve tried to read it twice and couldn’t get through it, even though the premise sounds wondrous! All my hopes are pinned on Peter Jackson. He got me through Lord of the Rings after about sixteen failed tries to read Fellowship of the Ring.

  3. September 7, 2011 4:42 pm

    i feel the same way about Dessen. I’ve read the Truth about Forever too and I think that’s my favorite Dessen book so far. Then again I’ve only read two Dessen books so I guess that doesn’t say too much. Hope you enjoy it though when you get around to it.

  4. September 8, 2011 11:05 pm

    All I can say is : I really want Macon to rhyme with bacon.

  5. September 15, 2011 5:30 pm

    I think Macon rhymes with bacon… otherwise it’d be like “mackin” which rhymes with… “smackin'”? OK, that was silly, sorry. :) I read Dessen back in my teen years, and I remember liking a few of her books. I remember her characters’ lives always being way more exciting than my own (or so I thought). Now, I imagine I’d have a reaction similar to yours if I picked up one of her books again.

  6. September 24, 2011 1:58 pm

    thank you! i kept thinking i was the only one who couldn’t connect with dessen’s books–and i love YA. i tried a few of them–on audio, in print, and on kindle, but my reactions were always the same: tepid. they aren’t terrible but they just don’t rivet me.

Trackbacks

  1. In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 4 « alita.reads.
  2. 2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Adult Smorgasbord) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

