Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (09.05.11)

September 4, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Degausser by Brand New
2. Minnesota, WI by Bon Iver
3. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head by Kylie Minogue (I just… yeah, I have no excuse for this)
4. Michicant by Bon Iver
5. Perth by Bon Iver

Between enjoying the last days of summer and going to a couple weddings, I’ve been listening to the playlist from our own wedding dance a lot lately. So, that’s where the Kylie song came up in my listening last week. I’m actually surprised there weren’t more songs from that playlist in the top 5. I thought for sure Copacabana would show up there.

I used to fill this section with the past week’s Starbucks Pick of the Week, but apparently they’ve stopped with the download cards. Major sad face. I need a new source of weekly new tunes – if you have any music recommendations or know of a place I that’s good for discovering new music, share it in the comments!

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

I haven’t done one of these in sooooooo long! Now that summer’s over and life is starting to fall back into routine, I think I’m officially back to blogging.

Finished: Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

Posted:
Wrapping Up Summer 2011 (aka What I Did During My Summer (Blogging) Vacation)

Currently Reading:
You Know When the Men Are Gone by Siobhan Fallon

Up Next: I really really really need to read some of my own books (6 of my last 8 have been library books), so I’m going to try to read Persuasion next. Although I have another hold waiting to be picked up from the library….

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 7:22 pm

    If you’re wanting free music, check out Legal Free Music (http://legalfreemusic.tumblr.com/) It’s my old blog.

  2. September 4, 2011 7:45 pm

    I actually bought three new books this week: The Book of Lost Things, Inside of a Dog, and The House at Riverton. I rarely buy books, so I hope they’re good! Glad you’re back to blogging regularly!

  3. September 4, 2011 8:02 pm

    I fall into that library trap a lot! I really have to pace myself in requesting lol

    Hope you have a great week!

  4. September 4, 2011 8:14 pm

    I too neglect the books I own because I get all the newly released one from the library. I see The Book Thief is a top read for you-me too. It’s probably time i read it again. Have a good reading week.

  5. September 4, 2011 8:31 pm

    It’s so easy to get swept away with library books. I’m traveling again and posting during a thunder storm. Please come see what I’m reading.

  6. September 4, 2011 8:38 pm

    My TBR stack keeps growing, need to spend less time at the computer and more time reading, lol

  7. September 4, 2011 8:48 pm

    I had to listen to your Minnesota, WI song since I am from Minnesota :)

  8. September 4, 2011 10:16 pm

    So many book, so little time…

  9. September 4, 2011 10:48 pm

    Love checking out your weekly music list. Have a great week.

  10. September 4, 2011 10:55 pm

    I hear ya about the library books. I get them and then I feel like I need to finish those first before I get to the ones I own…so I never get my own books read! Crazy.!

  11. September 4, 2011 11:02 pm

    I hope that you enjoy Persausion. I have been thinking for awhile its time I revisted some Jane Austen. I love Pride and Prejudice and Emma, but its a been a very long time since I read any of her other books. About time I picked one up I think :-)

  12. September 5, 2011 12:17 am

    Persuasion is a fantastic book. I hope you get round to reading it this week. Like Becky I have been wondering if it’s about time that I give some of Austen’s books a reread.

  13. September 5, 2011 2:56 am

    Have a good week. Kate Morton is good.

  14. September 5, 2011 4:54 am

    My tbr list grows faster than I can get to, too. I think books from my own shelves are going to be my priority this fall.

    My It’s Monday post can be found here.

  15. September 6, 2011 10:37 am

    I love Persuasion, think it might be Austin’s best. My latest reads are My Teenage Werewolf and My Sister is a Pop-Star. One is a parenting book, the other is a book for young readers. I devoured both.

I <3 Comments

