Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (08.01.11)

August 1, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Perth by Bon Iver
2. Michicant by Bon Iver
3. Beth/Rest by Bon Iver
4. Towers by Bon Iver
5. Hinnom, TX by Bon Iver

Yeah, this line-up doesn’t surprise me whatsoever. I’ve been a bit obsessed with this album. And Perth is incredibly beautiful so I’m definitely not surprised it got the top spot.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. August’s host is Life in the Thumb.

A friend & I had some time to kill last Monday evening, which obviously called for some Chapters browsing. I came away with only one book, but it feels like more because it’s three book in one.

Princess Diaries Collection by Meg Cabot (I’ve been wanting to read these books for so long, and now I have a collection of the first three in the series.)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen (my first Dessen!)

Gave up on:
Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca Hunt (I’m not usually one for giving up on books, and if I do I have a pretty good reason – hate the main character, too depressing for my own mental heath, etc. But this one, I just wasn’t feeling it, so I gave it up. And you know what? It was so liberating!) 

Posted:
Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski

Currently Reading: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (I’m more than half way through! But I need to keep on track and get my required number of pages read today so that I can finish it by it’s library due date next week.)

Up Next: Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve (This will be my commuting book this week.)

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 4:59 pm

    Hope you’re enjoying Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. Can’t wait to see what you think. It’s a favorite of mine. :-)

  2. August 1, 2011 5:36 pm

    You just wanted to be #100 to honor the 100th Its Monday What Are You Reading post I will do in a couple weeks. How thoughtful of you! LOL

    I have yet to read a Dessen too and I have several on my shelf.

  3. August 1, 2011 6:59 pm

    Ohhh – I’ve been curious about the Princess Diaries – love the movies, and think the books sound great. :)

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  4. August 1, 2011 7:13 pm

    I’m sorry Mr. Chartwell wasn’t working for you – it was a good book for me to read and really helped me view depression in such a different way.

  5. August 1, 2011 7:58 pm

    I hate to give up on books too but sometimes it’s just got to be done.

  6. August 1, 2011 8:10 pm

    Haven’t read Someone Like You yet but planning to since I have a copy. I do recommend The Truth About Forever by Sarah Desen (its my favourite of hers).

  7. August 3, 2011 7:43 am

    I have a copy of Strange and have yet to get to it!!! Yay for your first Dessen. I love her!! I’m liking the music you’ve been listening to!!

  8. August 3, 2011 5:03 pm

    It IS liberating to put down a book that isn’t working for you, isn’t it? Feels empowering! :) I don’t think I’ve read Sarah Dessen, but the name sounds familiar. Haven’t read Jonathan Strange yet, but have that one on my wishlist so will be curious to hear what you think about it. Have a great week!

  9. August 14, 2011 8:47 pm

    what did you think of dessen? i like some of her books but they aren’t all home runs for me. her most recent is languishing on my kindle–i’m about 35% through it. as for meg cabot–i read a few of the princess diaries and thought they were cute. i just read another of hers–every boy has one (i think) and it was light and quick.

I <3 Comments

