Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (07.25.11)

July 24, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week:

1. Calgary by Bon Iver
2. Wake Up by Arcade Fire
3. Une année sans lumière by Arcade Fire
4. The Longest Road (feat. Lissie) by Morgan Page (It’s like house meets country, neither or which I’m all that fond of but oh how I love this song.)
5. Beth/Rest by Bon Iver

After listening to Calgary over and over again, I finally broke down and bought the whole Bon Iver album. And is it ever beautiful. I’m going to be listening to it for a while.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski

Posted:
Faro’s Daughter by Georgette Heyer
Soundtrack Saturday – Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski

Currently Reading:
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Up Next: Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca Hunt will be my commuting book this week, as Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell is unfortunately much too large to fit in my bag.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 5:20 pm

    Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell really intrigues me although I’m not a huge fan of fantasy. Look forward to your review on that.

  2. July 24, 2011 6:36 pm

    Mr. Chartwell was a really interesting book, it wasn’t what I expected – but I did thoroughly enjoy it.

  3. July 24, 2011 6:55 pm

    Happy reading this week!!!

    Here is mine

  4. July 24, 2011 7:07 pm

    I need to look up the two books you mentioned reading his week. Enjoy your reading!
    My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-49.html

  5. July 24, 2011 8:04 pm

    Faro’s Daughter sounds interesting – I have not read this author yet but have heard such good things.

  6. July 24, 2011 11:25 pm

    The wackiest book I’m reading this week is Bagelmania. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  7. July 25, 2011 5:41 am

    I listened to all your songs and they are all great. My favorite would be Calgary. I would love to know the meaning behind that song by the one who wrote it. The Longest Road is a fun song. Arcade Fire is good, but I don’t gravitate towards them for some reason.

    You like Switchfoot, if I recall correctly, what do you think of their Dare You To Move
    I have been listening to that song these last couple of days.

    For books: I just finished BLACKOUT by Connie Willis. It is an excellent read; sci-fi (time travel) and historical fiction blended perfectly together. I also finished reading an ARC called COMING UP FOR AIR. Another good read, have you heard of it? It is set to be released in September.
    I did buy a new book – THE LOVER’s DICTIONARY by David Levithan. I have heard good things about this book, and what little I have read….it looks great.

    Have a fantastic Reading and Music week. :D

    • July 25, 2011 1:25 pm

      I looooove Switchfoot and that is a great song. It’s on two of their albums, first Learning To Breathe and The Beautiful Letdown. They’re both fantastic albums, but Learning To Breathe has a special place in my heart.

  8. July 25, 2011 7:02 am

    Little Boy Lost piques my interest….hope you enjoy your reading week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. July 25, 2011 10:09 am

    The older I get, the less likely it is that I will read enormous books. Life is too short, I think.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?! And don’t forget to enter my July giveaway!

    • July 25, 2011 1:20 pm

      I’ve learned to stay away from enormous books after realizing I’m generally not going to like them just because of their length. I put JS&MN on hold at the library without knowing it’s ginormous girth, but I’ve been able to renew it (beside there being holds) so now I feel a little less pressured to finish it quickly :)

  10. July 25, 2011 6:40 pm

    Little Boy Lost seems to be a book that many are reading right now. Have a great week. :-)

I <3 Comments

