Skip to content

Faro’s Daughter by Georgette Heyer (final thoughts)

July 20, 2011

From the publisher’s website:
When Max Ravenscar, renowned gamester, and by his own definition, untroubled by a romantic disposition, meets Deborah Grantham, beautiful mistress of her aunt’s gaming house, all his experience of risk and gambles finds him unprepared.

I am officially a Heyer convert.

Faro’s Daughter was my first foray into Heyer’s massive catalog and I have no idea what took me so long. Well, yes, I know what took me so long – the fact that her catalog is so huge and I had no idea where to start. If you’re at that place right now, let me give you some advice: Just pick one. Any one. Or this one.

So. Young Lord Mablethorpe is two months shy of becoming of age, but has decided he is in love and must be married pronto. The object of his desire is Deb Grantham, who, as the description above explains, whiles away her evenings and nights in the rooms of her aunt’s gaming house. Obviously this type of woman would jump at such an advantageous marriage, at least according to Mablethorpe’s cousin and trustee, Max Ravenscar. So, in an attempt to protect the family name, Ravenscar steps in and offers to pay Miss Deb off. Deb becomes highly offended that Ravenscar would assume that she’s the type who could be paid off and inwardly vows her revenge.

And hi-jinx and carefully crafted insults ensue.

It was so very delicious. I gobbled the story up, my eyes wide as I cackled with glee and exclaimed to the hubster again and again “Ha! This is so good!” I loved Heyer’s writing, especially the banter and the sly remarks that are slipped in here are there, both in dialogue and narration.

I’m going even going to bother with analyzing whether or not the characters were well rounded or how probable the story line was, because that’s not what these books (can I generalize after only reading one?) are about. They’re pure entertainment and I’ll be scouring the next library sale for more.

I’m so glad I picked Faro’s Daughter up on a whim, but now my to-read shelf is sadly Heyer-less. Help! What should I read next? Or does it really even matter what I pick?

My rating: 8/10

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 2:34 pm

    I reading Sylvester or the Wicked Uncle right now and enjoying it immensely.

  2. July 20, 2011 2:53 pm

    I’ve been meaning to try her work. I think I want to try one of her mysteries. Great review.

  3. July 20, 2011 6:54 pm

    I’m having the same problem, I don’t know where to start but I really want to read one of her books. I’ll take your advice and just pick one then. :-)

  4. July 21, 2011 9:22 am

    With these reviews on Georgette, I know I need to go pick some up! Loving your reviews!

  5. July 24, 2011 10:35 am

    The Grand Sophy! (Even my husband liked that one!)

  6. July 24, 2011 7:10 pm

    I vote for Frederica! Such a charming book. I really love how Heyer’s heroes are never what you’d expect.

  7. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 26, 2011 9:09 am

    I picked up one of her books at a sale, but haven’t read it yet. It seems that everyone who reads her loves her so I need to get to it!

  8. October 2, 2011 7:35 am

    I just got this book from my eLibrary via Kindle. Excited to read it. I like the other audio books of Heyer I’ve listened to.

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 Clean Up: Snippet Thoughts (Adult Smorgasbord) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

