Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (07.18.11)

July 17, 2011

Last.fm isn’t working right now, so I can’t tell you what my top 5 songs from last week were, but I can tell you what songs I’ve been loving lately. First, Calgary by Bon Iver. During the previous week I had only listened to it once, maybe twice, but I could tell it was a song I would love. Last week it clicked with me and I listened to it on repeat.

I’ve also been listening to Somebody’s Gonna Love You by Matt Wertz lots. All in all, it was a much more mellow much week than the week before was.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Quite a while ago I added this book to my to-read list. It was so long ago that I have absolutely no idea who recommended it or why it was on the list. But, I figured it was about time I read it. For some reason I had it in my head that it was a short, quick read and that I could easily fit it in between my other library books. So imagine my surprise when I make my way over to the hold shelves and find this 800-page tome waiting for me.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

If you’ve been around here a few times before, you may know that long books and I tend not to get along very well. I might be enjoying the book immensely, but I always get extremely antsy about half way through, thinking about all the other books I could have read in the time that it’s taken me to read this book so far and it’s still not done yet. Jonathan Strange will be my at-home book (on account of it being too big to fit in my purse), so I’ll read other books on my way to work which should help to lessen the antsy-ness.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Faro’s Daughter by Georgette Heyer

Posted:
In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Pt 2 

Currently Reading:
Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Up Next: It’s going to be enough for me just to try to finish one of these this week, so I’m not even going to think about what might be next yet.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 6:38 pm

    Little Boy Lost looks like it is going to be a great read! Looking forward to reading your review!

    Here is My Monday Post: http://www.handsandhome.ca/2011/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-20.html

  2. July 17, 2011 6:39 pm

    Jonathan Strange is a big book! I was so distracted by the footnotes in it though, I had a rough time with it lol

    Here is my Monday!

  3. July 17, 2011 7:11 pm

    Looks like a good week! Enjoy the books!

  4. July 17, 2011 7:25 pm

    I do enjoy Georgette Heyer’s books and have yet to read Faro’s Daughter so I will add that to my TBR. Have a great week.
    My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-48.html

  5. July 17, 2011 7:35 pm

    I have never heard of the books you’re reading.

    I’ve never heard of the bookstore planning to read.

    Here is mine

  6. July 17, 2011 9:53 pm

    I can’t wait to get these books reviewed. It was one of the best weeks of reading I’ve had in a long time. Please come see what I read.

  7. July 18, 2011 2:36 am

    Jonathan Strange is huge but well worth it I think. I read it when it first came out and couldn’t put it down. It’s definitely on me reread list. I have the hardback edition though which is the only thing that’s putting me off. Really doesn’t fit in my bag (and I like large bags). I hope you enjoy it. Please don’t be put off by the footnotes. They hold their own story in a way.

  8. July 18, 2011 6:57 am

    Little Boy Lost looks good…hope you enjoy the books you choose to read.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  9. July 18, 2011 8:40 am

    Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell is a great book and a big one. Enjoy. :-)

  10. July 20, 2011 2:31 pm

    I feel the same as you do about big books. It doesn’t matter how much I enjoy it, I just keep thinking about all the other books I could be reading instead. One of the reasons I have never finished Strange & Norrell despite liking the first 400 pages. But I will, some day!

  11. July 21, 2011 5:55 am

    I have been wanting to read ‘Jonathan Strange’ for awhile and just haven’t gotten around to it. Can’t wait to hear how you like it. Also, I have never been to Last.fm before, but am listening now! Thanks for sharing.

I <3 Comments

