Skip to content

In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 2

July 13, 2011

In an attempt to get back into the bloggy swing of things, I’m going to work through my backlog with some ultra-mini snippet reviews. My feelings on these books in 5 sentences or less!
Part 1

Welcome To My World by Miranda Dickinson
Welcome To My World starts with the main character, Harri, locked in a bathroom stall following a disastrous event that left many of the people closest to her incredibly angry with her (including her best guy friend/love interest) and sent a couple people to hospital, and maybe there was food poisoning, too? Each chapter starts with Harri in the bathroom stall, and then flashes back to the events leading up to that fateful evening. And this is why I kept reading, to find out exactly what happened that night. Answers are sprinkled throughout the flashbacks, so there isn’t a bit ‘ta da!’ at the end, but I did like how the details were revealed. However, I thought that the premise was a bit improbable and never really connected with Harri – overall it was an okay read.
My rating: 6/10

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton
I have mixed feelings about this one. On the one had it seemed to take forever to get into, and the garden didn’t even show up until half way through the story (which for some reason I had a problem with). But on the other hand, I loved the way the many secrets were revealed and how the story finally began to unfold. Once I was pulled in to the story and the lives of the many characters, I was hooked. Recommended for when you’re in the mood for a slightly slow moving, intricate tale.
My rating: 8/10

Losing Faith by Denise Jaden
Once I started reading Losing Faith I could not put it down. I had borrowed it from someone and although I was in the middle of another book at the time (The Forgotten Garden), I finished Losing Faith two days later. One of my favourite aspects of the book where the characters and how fleshed out they were. I really liked that the supporting characters, Brie’s two new friends, weren’t just there to follow Brie around, but had issues and flaws of their own that needed to be dealt with. But most of all it was the mystery of what was really going on with Faith that kept me reading until the end.
My rating: 7.5/10

Sleeping Arrangements by Madeleine Wickham
Although I’ve read everything she’s written under the Sophie Kinsella pseudonym, I had only read one book under Madeleine Wickham, so I figured it was high time I read another. I read Sleeping Arrangements while on vacation and it was a perfect beach read, but that’s about it. I never warmed to Chloe, nor to any of the other characters, really. But I did like the twist as to why both families were booked to arrive at the villa the same week. I didn’t like this one as much as Cocktails For Three but I’m willing to give more of her stuff a try.
My rating: 6/10 

Among The Mad by Jacqueline Winspear
I picked up Among The Mad while on vacation, needing a change of pace after Sleeping Arrangements. It’s the 6th book in the Maisie Dobbs mystery series, of which I knew nothing prior to plucking this one off the bookstore shelf. It took a while for me to get into the story, but that could have something to do with sitting in the bright sunshine while reading about interwar London in the dead of winter. But overall I was pleasantly surprised, both with the character of Maisie and the mystery she was set on figuring out. I plan on reading the first book in the series soon, to see how Maisie started off as a detective, and will no doubt continue the series on from there. (Plus, I quite like the covers)
My rating: 7/10

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 5:37 am

    Glad to hear that you really liked Losing Faith by Denise Jaden. I haven’t heard a lot of this book, but it does sounds very interesting. Somethimes I need a good mystery. ;)

  2. July 13, 2011 10:34 am

    Forgotten garden looks great! I love these mini reviews. You have inspired me to do the same thing on my blog since I just can’t keep with my reviews of every book I read! Hope you don’t mind!

  3. July 13, 2011 10:37 am

    I love the mini reviews! I also like how you read many genres, heh. I had no idea Sophie Kinsella was a pseudonym. I read the first and second of her Shopaholic series but I think I liked The Twenties Girl much more (unless it was written by someone else and I’m totally getting confused).

  4. July 13, 2011 1:02 pm

    I plan to get to The Forgotten Garden one of these days. BTW, love mini-reviews!

  5. July 13, 2011 2:50 pm

    I’ve been told FG is good. Thanks for letting me know you have to hang in there at first.

  6. July 13, 2011 4:28 pm

    the books i need to review are ridiculous. maybe i need to make one of these posts. i’m glad to see you like the forgotten garden. i think i have it in my tbr.

  7. July 15, 2011 4:24 am

    The Forgotten Garden is kind of a junk food read for me — I enjoy it even when I think it’s at its silliest, and I’m able to look past its flaws because it’s so much fun to read. That’s how I feel about Kate Morton in general, really.

  8. July 19, 2011 12:35 pm

    This makes me feel like I should probably give Loosing Faith a chance. It’s been sitting on my TBR pile for a while and haven’t felt compelled to read it yet.

  9. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 26, 2011 9:12 am

    Your highest rated one, The Forgotten Garden , has been on my wish list a while. Isn’t it funny how some things really bother you in a book (like the garden not showing up til halfway through) and then another person would never notice it?

Trackbacks

  1. In Which I Play Catch Up: Snipped Reviews Part 3 « alita.reads.
  2. In Which I Play Catch Up: Snippet Reviews Part 4 « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

