Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (07.10.11)

July 10, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week:

1. Wake Up by Arcade Fire
2. Hurricane Jane by Black Kids
3. Fight For You by Morgan Page
4. The Bitter Strings by The Jealous Sound
5. Quiet Life by The Jealous Sound

I went a bit off my usual fare last week and ended up listening to quite a bit of Black Kids and Morgan Page. I saw Black Kids play a couple years ago, and Hurricane Jane was by far the best one of their songs live.
Last week I was finally able to redeem the iTunes card I picked up the week before and was introduced to Bon Iver’s Calgary, which is pretty freaking amazing. I didn’t listen to it too much last week, as it was sunny out and I was more in the mood for upbeat tunes, but this one will get plenty of play in the coming months. I picked up a new card on Friday, which gave me King of Diamonds by Motopony. It’s alright, but I think it could grow on my after a few listens.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Our library system recently introduced a new website which makes it much easier to add books to a ‘for later’ list, so I’ve been having a field day with adding books based on your recommendations (thanks guys). However, it felt like ages since I had actually borrowed anything from the library. So I stopped by the wonderful downtown branch after work one day and picked these two up:

Mr. Chartwell by Rebecca Hunt
Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished: Wedding Season by Katie Fforde

Posted:
Winner & Summertime Songs

Currently Reading: Faro’s Daughter by Georgette Heyer. As you may recall, I decided to read Heyer next after being part of a high tea last weekend and feeling all fancy. And as soon as I made that decision, the book I was reading at the time, Wedding Season, started referencing Heyer novels. It was meant to be that I read Heyer next :)

Up Next: Little Boy Lost Marghanita Laski. I actually started this on my way home from the library (because I had forgotten Wedding Season at home that day [I know! The horror of forgetting your book at home! I had an awfully boring lunch break that day]) and am very much looking forward to continuing it.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2011 7:04 pm

    I have Georgette Heyer on my radar for next week – I’d never even heard of her until recently (Do you know about Stiletto Storytime’s Heyer month next month?)

    Here is my Monday!

  2. July 10, 2011 7:21 pm

    I am quite a Georgette Heyer fan. Have a wonderful week and enjoy your reading.
    My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-47.html

  3. July 10, 2011 7:49 pm

    I have never read Heyer… now I feel left out. I need to get on that. :)

  4. July 10, 2011 7:56 pm

    I tried Heyer. I like her mysteries. Her novels are something different.

    Here is mine

  5. July 10, 2011 10:42 pm

    This week though I finished only library books and review copies. Please come see what I read.

  6. July 11, 2011 12:04 am

    I’ve been meaning to read something by Katie Fforde and just haven’t gotten to yet. I’ll have to check out your review once you’ve posted it!

    Hope you have a fabulous reading week and if you get a second stop my to see what I’ve been reading at There’s A Book! :)

  7. July 11, 2011 5:47 am

    I saw a newer book by Katie Fforde that intrigued me (Summer of Love?), so I’m thinking Wedding Season sounds good, too.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  8. July 11, 2011 6:37 am

    I’m not familiar with any of your books this week…will have to look into them.

    My week can be found here.

  9. justbookreading permalink
    July 11, 2011 9:18 am

    I’ve yet to read a Georgette Heyer book…but I’m hoping by the end of the year!

  10. July 11, 2011 11:14 am

    I’m wanting to read Heyer someday. I’ve heard great things. I’m currently reading Abandon by Meg Cabot and Impulse. Both kind of dark and a bit depressing. But I did just finish off a great historical regency romance book! So that’s helped to balance the mood!

  11. July 11, 2011 4:20 pm

    This week I’m reading a ton of nonfiction with sprinkles of fiction mixed in. Happy reading.

  12. July 12, 2011 1:50 pm

    Hm, I never thought of keeping track of which songs I listen to the most per week. That’s a good idea.

    • July 12, 2011 2:01 pm

      I use last.fm to track what I listen to. Much easier than trying to remember them all!

I <3 Comments

