Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Ruffles On My Longjohns by Isabel Edwards

June 11, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the publisher’s website:
Witty, whimsical, this is a firsthand account of homesteading in the remote Bella Coola Valley. For a woman in a world of men, isolation had a very special meaning. She coped – lovingly, laughingly – and regales the reader with her memories.

Soundtrack Song: “Your Rocky Spine” by Great Lake Swimmers
In 1932 Isabel and her husband Earle left their home in Portland to spend just one winter up north with Earle’s brother. However, during the one cold, isolated winter they fell in love with the Canadian wilderness and set up a home for themselves in the middle of nowhere. Although life was tough, I think that Isabel would relate to this ode to the harsh Canadian landscape by Great Lake Swimmers.

Falling over your rocky spine
The glaciers made you and now you’re mine 

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2011 11:39 am

    Yay for posting! :D

    I’m currently reading Agatha H. and the Airship City, but I haven’t gotten very far into it so I don’t know what exact song fits best with it. However! It’s a steampunkish sort of book so a steampunkish sort of song should go at least a little bit. So I’m choosing this:

    Airship Pirate by Abney Park! :D I don’t actually know if Agatha H. has pirates in it, but I can always hope.

  2. June 11, 2011 4:35 pm

    What a cool song. I’d never heard it before.

  3. June 12, 2011 2:59 am

    I’m not familiar with the book, but I love that song SO much :)

Trackbacks

  1. In Which I Play Catch Up: Snipped Reviews Part 3 « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

