Skip to content

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson (final thoughts)

May 18, 2011

From the author’s website:
Here’s the deal: Aunt Peg, the New York artist and the person Ginny Blackstone depended on to make her life interesting, took off to Europe without a word three years ago. Aside from a few postcards, Ginny hasn’t heard much. Then she gets a horrible phone call that changes everything.
But the story is only beginning. Soon after, Ginny receives one little blue envelope from Aunt Peg containing a thousand dollars and some very strange instructions… 

I had been wanting to read something by Maureen Johnson for quite a while and seeing as The Last Little Blue Envelope was just published, 13 Little Blue Envelopes seemed like a good place to start. However, in retrospect, reading it right after Wither wasn’t the best of ideas. In Wither teenaged girls worry about being snatched out of their beds at night, so safety and security are of utmost importance. Now here’s 17-year-old Ginny, traipsing about Europe BY HERSELF, with no plan and no contact with home allowed. Gah! Maybe I’m just becoming an old worrywart, but have you seen Taken? Freak. Me. Out. Maureen Johnson.

Anyway, once I got past worrying about Ginny’s safety (who am I kidding, I never really got over that), 13 Little Blue Envelopes was a pretty fun book to read. Even if I have trouble with a book’s plot, a great leading character help me overlook it, and that was the case here. I really liked that Ginny was a regular, insecure, shy girl. I liked her inner monologue and her inability to say the right thing (or, in some instances, anything) at the right time. Yes, she didn’t always make the best decisions, but what 17-year-old does? Also, my MacBook is named Ginny, so I’m obviously going to bit biased.

Like most books set in Europe, 13 Little Blue Envelopes made me want to pack up and hop on a plane pronto. I’ve only been to one of the countries Ginny briefly visited and this book definitely renewed by wish to go back and explore more countries.

Yes, I will be reading The Last Little Blue Envelope at some point, because I NEED to know what was in the last letter!

My rating: 7/10

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 7:52 am

    I love that you confessed to worrying about her.

  2. May 18, 2011 4:06 pm

    >>>>Maybe I’m just becoming an old worrywart, but have you seen Taken?

    Hahahahahaha, this made me laugh out loud. I have not seen Taken because I know it would make me totally scared to go traveling. :p

  3. May 18, 2011 5:04 pm

    I downloaded this on my Kindle when it was offered as a freebie…looking forward to reading it!

  4. May 19, 2011 2:14 pm

    Taken was soooo good! But, yeah, it made me want to put an extra lock on my door and pray that Liam Neeson would be available to rescue me. I’ve seen this one around but I’m not convinced it’s for me. I like the idea behind it though. Maybe a library book…

  5. May 24, 2011 9:39 pm

    Gah, I have seen Taken and I’m completely freaked out by the idea of such a young woman traveling by herself like that. On the other hand, I have many friends who did similar trips, so I would love to live one from the security of my home. I just know I’ll have to read it at some point!

  6. May 29, 2011 6:57 am

    I downloaded this to my NOOK recently because it was a Friday Freebie. I’m looking forward to reading it!

  7. May 31, 2011 8:01 am

    Though I read this one years ago and enjoyed it, I’m with you: it was hard to get over the fact that a 17-year-old was just going to pop all over Europe by herself. When I was 17, I could barely navigate around my hometown! Not totally realistic. But putting that aside, it was fun escapism — and inspired wanderlust in me, too. Have to read the last one!

  8. May 31, 2011 5:45 pm

    i borrowed this one from the library a while back and hate to say that it was less than memorable for me. i do enjoy following maureen johnson on twitter but this book didn’t really do it for me. i’ve been on a YA kick for a while now-any suggestions beyond this one?

  9. June 10, 2011 11:39 am

    I’ve not read anything by Maureen Johnson but have read a couple of reviews of her books, and they sound fun… I don’t know, I think I’d be okay with traipsing on my own across Europe as a teenager. The Louvre, The Opera, Madurodam, Montreux’s Jazz Festival, the Vatican…. oh yeah :D

    I’d love to read this book – sounds fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Snippet Thoughts: Cinder, Come August Come Freedom, Last Little Blue Envelop, Princess in Waiting « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

