Skip to content

Weekly Round Up

May 15, 2011

I took an impromptu break from blogging, so I haven’t done one of these posts in a few weeks. So this is what I’ve been up to since my last Round Up post.

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week:

1. Psychasthenia by William Fitzsimmons
2. The Winter From Her Leaving by William Fitzsimmons
3. Dead Against Smoking by Admiral Fallow
4. The Tide Pulls From The Moon by William Ftizsimmons
5. Fade And Then Return by William Ftizsimmons

I saw William Fitzsimmons play last week, so you get a lot of his songs in this round up!

I wasn’t able to grab an iTunes download card from Starbucks last week, but I did pick up three other ones since my last post. The first one was Poor Eliza by Chris Bathgate, which on first listen I thought was too country for me. But listening to it again now, I’m kinda liking it. I’ll have to give it a few more listens in the next week. The second song was We Don’t Eat by James Vincent McMorrow, which I am LOVING. It’s just a simple little song, but it blew me away from the very first listen. The third song I picked up was The Roller by Beady Eye, which is the new band of the leftover members of Oasis after Noel Gallagher left. I’m not completely won over by it, especially after immersing myself in the effortless beauty of the James Vincent McMorrow song. But I’ll have to give it a few more listens, too. It could very well grow on me.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. May’s host is Mari @ Mari Reads.

The main branch of our library had their big Spring sale at the end of April, so amid other foragers, I liberated these titles from the piles of books:

Faro’s Daughter by Georgette Heyer (I’ve wanted to read Heyer for a while, but so many choices – where do I start! Might as well start with a random library sale find. Although with my luck I probably picked her worst book ever.)
The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo (why not?)
The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
Making Your Mind Up by Jill Mansell
Sleeping Arrangements by Madeleine Wickham (Although I’ve read every Sophie Kinsella book, I’ve only read one penned under her real name. I really liked it so I thought I’d give another one a chance.)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Wither by Lauren DeStefano
13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
Losing Faith by Denise Jaden

Posted:
Wither by Lauren DeStefano
Soundtrack Saturday – Losing Faith

Currently Reading: The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

Up Next: Something from the TBR shelves – they’ve started to overflow again! Must get that under control.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 6:40 pm

    The Elegance of the Hedgehog is a bit slow to begin, but I loved it. I have yet to read a Georgette Heyer book…shame on me

    Enjoy your new reads.

  2. May 15, 2011 6:55 pm

    I have amassed about 30 Georgette Heyer books and have yet to read any of them. I’ve heard from others that Faro’s Daughter is a good one though :) Happy reading!

  3. May 15, 2011 6:59 pm

    Wow! It seems like everyone was reading Wither last week! Happy reading this week.

  4. May 15, 2011 7:09 pm

    Great selection. I didn’t know Madeleine Wickham is Sophie Kinsella’s real name! Hope this one is as good as her Shopaholic series. I am going to check out your review of Wither right away. Have a terrific week!

    My Bookshelf

  5. May 15, 2011 7:20 pm

    I want to read 13 Little Blue Envelopes!

  6. May 15, 2011 7:25 pm

    13 Little Blue Envelopes is one I’ve been seeing and am starting to want

  7. May 15, 2011 7:39 pm

    Sounds like some great YA titles; enjoy

  8. May 15, 2011 7:43 pm

    Haven’t been to the library in awhile. Enjoy your book and thanks for sharing!

  9. May 15, 2011 7:58 pm

    Enjoy your new books!

  10. May 15, 2011 8:07 pm

    This week I finished up the manga I had on hand. I typically read an issue over my morning cup of coffee. Come see what I’m reading this week.

  11. May 15, 2011 8:10 pm

    I spend a lot of time listening to a band when I’m seeing them soon too – my next show is The Airborne Toxic Event, so I’ve been listening to their new one a lot lately.

    I read your review of Wither earlier this week and really liked it (both the book and your review), glad to hear you are looking forward to the sequel…I can’t wait to read it!

    Please feel free to stop by my Monday here.

  12. May 15, 2011 8:12 pm

    I have to check out your thoughts on Whither. That is one I have had my eye on for awhile now ;)

  13. May 15, 2011 8:26 pm

    I adore Kate Morton’s book, I hope you enjoy The Forgotten Garden. Happy reading and enjoy your week. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/05/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-39.html

  14. May 15, 2011 11:01 pm

    I know what you mean about good ole’ Mount TBR! Mine has been piled high for a couple months now and it’s driving me crazy! Hopefully you’ll pick some fantastic reads for this week. Can’t wait to see what you thought of 13 Little Blue Envelopes, I have that one to read as well.

    Hope you have a fabulous reading week and if you get a second stop my to see what I’ve been reading at There’s A Book! :)

  15. May 16, 2011 2:32 am

    I have Hunchback of Notre Dame in my TBR pile. It’s been sitting there a few years, should really do something about that ;/

    I read 13 Little Blue Envelopes and thought it was okay. An interesting idea though.

    I know what you mean about that TBR pile. Mine feels a little out of control too. Gabe over at Gabereads is hosting a challenge to work on them if you are interested.

    http://gabrielreads.blogspot.com/2011/05/books-i-should-have-read-by-now.html

  16. May 16, 2011 4:26 am

    I’m always looking for new music. I run so I especially like songs that make me want to move to the beat. :) I loved, loved Elegance of the Hedgehog, although I know not everyone shares my opinion. I think it was partly because I read in while I went through France so it fit my mood perfectly.

  17. May 16, 2011 4:40 am

    Oh how I understand about overflowing bookshelves. I feel like the more books I have, the more complicated it is to pick out a book to read! I have Wither but haven’t read it, yet. I will have to check out your review.

  18. May 16, 2011 4:54 am

    I’ve heard The Elegance of the Hedgehog starts out slow but is worth sticking with. Enjoy your new books!

  19. May 16, 2011 5:38 am

    I fully understand the overflowing bookshelves. It happens! I have a few Georgette Heyer books on my overflowing bookshelves which I have yet to read. Maybe someday!

  20. May 16, 2011 7:32 am

    I just posted my review of The Forgotten Garden yesterday – I really enjoyed the book. It was our book club pick for April.

    My It’s Monday post can be found here.

  21. May 16, 2011 8:43 am

    I’ve been wanting to read The Elegance of the Hedgehog. Sleeping Arrangements was one I loved.

    Have a great week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  22. May 16, 2011 9:24 am

    I loved The Elegance of the Hedgehog but brace yourself for a slow start. It get’s wonderful around page 60 or so. I have some Heyer on my list too but don’t know where to start. I’ll be interested to see what you think of your pick.

  23. May 16, 2011 9:28 am

    I’ll have to see what your opinion is of The Elegance Of The Hedgehog, enjoy!

  24. May 16, 2011 11:12 am

    the novel, ‘wither’ has been a small book buzz i see. hope you have an enjoyable read with your reads.

  25. May 16, 2011 9:31 pm

    Oh, I love Georgette Heyer books. I didn’t read many (if any) of her mysteries, but I really enjoyed her romances. :)

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  26. May 17, 2011 6:35 pm

    Oooo, Sleeping Arrangements! I haven’t read that one yet. :D I hope you enjoy it!

I <3 Comments

