Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (04.18.11)

April 17, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week:

1. Cold Wind by Joshua Hyslop
2. Invented by Jimmy Eat World
3. The Tide Pulls From The Moon by William Fitzsimmons
4. Brightest Hour by The Submarines
5. You, Me and the Bourgeoisie by The Submarines

I don’t know about you, but the weather has a huge impact on what I listen to. Last week we had a couple sunny days, full of upbeat happy music, but also a lot of below-seasonal chilly days. So, I’ve got mellow tunes in my top 5 again. I saw The Submarines play last week and they are so incredibly cute, not to mention a great live band. If you have the chance to see them, definitely do it.

Last week’s iTunes download card from Starbucks featured The Afterlife by Paul Simon. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of it.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. March’s host is Amy at Passages to the Past.

It was my birthday last week, which of course means new books. I got two and then bought myself a third.

Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah
True Colors by Kristin Hannah
The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell (This is the one I bought, and I just plucked it randomly from the shelf.)
Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas (I actually got this a couple weeks ago and am reading it with a friend. While I don’t agree with everything he says, the book has definitely made me think.)

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I picked up a few books from the library last week – one that I’ve been wanted to read for a while (Wither) and the other two sort of jumped into my bag from the shelf. That’s the story I’m sticking with, anyway.

Wither by Lauren DeStefano
Welcome To My World by Miranda Dickinson
Recollections of Rosings by Rebecca Ann Collins (which I just noticed says quite clearly on the front “Book 8”. Oh well, hopefully a knowledge of the earlier books isn’t crucial to the story.)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa
Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

Posted:
Soundtrack Saturday: Firefly Lane

Currently Reading: Welcome To My World by Miranda Dickinson

Up Next: Probably Wither

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 3:51 pm

    Wow, I’ve read and loved Firefly Lane, True Colors, and The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox. Wonderful books all.

    Hope you enjoy them.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. April 17, 2011 7:36 pm

    I just read Kristin Hannah’s new book, NIGHT ROAD. Very compelling. Enjoy your reads!

  3. April 17, 2011 8:16 pm

    These are new titles to me, so I will look into them. Have a wonderful week. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/04/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-35.html

  4. April 17, 2011 9:04 pm

    wow you got Wither. How I really want to read that book. I have ordered it though.
    I hope it will be here soon.

    Happy reading!

    It’s All About Books

  5. April 17, 2011 11:51 pm

    The Kristin Hannah books look good. Enjoy the week.

  6. April 18, 2011 12:10 am

    Was it your birthday? Belated birthday wishes! Mine was also last week (the 12th). There’s a giveaway on my blog if you’re interested (actually, that’s because it was my 1-year blogoversary yesterday).

    I enjoyed Esme Lennox a lot – have fun reading this week!

  7. April 18, 2011 1:44 am

    Wither wasn’t my cup of tea, I hope you enjoy it more than I did! :)

    My Monday post

  8. April 18, 2011 4:07 am

    I haven’t read any of Hannah’s work, but my sister loves it. I hope you do too.

  9. April 18, 2011 4:28 am

    I read and enjoyed Firefly Lane and ‘Esme Lennox’. Hope you do too :)

  10. April 18, 2011 6:31 am

    I read Firefly Lane a couple years ago….. and…. well, I am not going to tell you. ;) I will say I remember exactly where I was when I finished the book and that was on a bus in Honduras… it was one of those books that I wasnt sure about and then it blew me away…

    Have a super week :)

    • April 18, 2011 9:47 am

      Jeepers, this is not the kind of book you want to finish in a public place! It blew me away more than I thought it would, too.

  11. April 18, 2011 10:26 am

    happy belated birthday! Firefly Lane was a good one- needed a few tissues though. Have a great week, enjoy your new books and happy reading! My MM is here should you like to visit.

  12. April 18, 2011 10:41 am

    Enjoy your books and Happy Birthday!

  13. April 18, 2011 10:52 am

    I have not read either of those Kristin Hannah books but I love the ones I have read! Happy Belated Birthday!

  14. April 18, 2011 11:08 am

    A Belated Happy Birthday to you! Hope you had a great day! I think you’ll enjoy the Hannah books!

  15. April 18, 2011 11:45 am

    I’m reading a mixture of homework and manga this week. Come see what I’m reading.

  16. April 19, 2011 5:57 am

    I’m hopping through from It’s Monday, What are you Reading?

    I’ve only read one of Kristin Hannah’s books (True Colors) but I liked it so much, I put all of her books on my TBR list! Happy belated birthday!

  17. April 19, 2011 12:42 pm

    first, belated birthday wishes to you!! hope it was happy. :) second, i’m so proud of myself for actually having heard of ONE of the bands you mentioned this week! lol. i always feel so out-of-touch when i read your eclectic music selections. i’m stuck in the 70s listening to all the R&B my mom loved. well, that and audio books! as for books, i’m away so not sure if anything showed up in the post box. i did, however, help my mom pick a bunch of books at the local thrift shop yesterday. she bought 8 books on my suggestion–most of which i’d read or read about on other bloggers’ sites! a few of the other shoppers gathered around for suggestions, too. i love to spread the book love.

I <3 Comments

