Skip to content

Spring 2011 Read-a-thon Updates

April 9, 2011

I’ll be updating this post throughout the read-a-thon. Scroll down to the bottom for current stats!

What’s going on here today, you ask? This is what’s going on! Regular scheduled programing returns on Monday.

My read-a-thon plans are to finish Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella, then choose from the following:

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia)
Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
A Wind in the Door by Madeleine L’Engle
The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa
Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman

5:00 am – Hour 1
Did I just wake up at 5 am on a Saturday? Let the reading begin!

6:38 am – Hour 2

Good morning! I was going to start the morning off with cheering, but it took a little while for my brain to wake up. Off to do some cheering now. If your participating today, I hope your read-a-thon is off to a great start!

Reading: Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
Munching: Scrambled Eggs, Cereal, and sipping Masala Chai
Listening: to the birds chirping outside

Books finished: 0
Total pages read: 54
Total reading time: 1hr 5min
Total cheer comments: 0

8:40 am – Hour 4

It feels like I’ve had a productive morning. I finished my first book and visited a bunch of blogs. There’s some great reading going on so far!

Reading: deciding on what to read next. Perhaps Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Pictures!
Munching: a chunk of Irish Brown Soda Bread
Listening: Light A Roman Candle With Me by fun.

Books finished: 1
Total pages read: 99
Total reading time: 1hr 45min
Total cheer comments: 25

10:32 am – Hour 6

So, I think I’m just going to update every time I have something to eat. For some reason I didn’t realize just how much waking up at 5am would throw off my eating schedule. I mean, I usually don’t have breakfast until 8:30, so of course I should be hungry at 10:30 when I usually have my morning snack. So it’s morning snack #2! This time, it’s apples & cheese. Going to try to keep things healthy as long as possible. I’ll break out chips and cake and chocolate (and maybe even wine) a bit later.

I took a few longish breaks from reading to cheer and tweet, so even though my reading numbers aren’t quite where I’d like to see them, I’ve been having fun flitting around the blogosphere. I hope you’ve all been having a great day! Hopefully I can stop by and say hi soon!

Reading: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia)
Munching: Apples & Cheese
Listening: Enough To Let Me Go by Switchfoot

Books finished: 1
Total pages read: 144
Total reading time: 2hrs 26min
Total cheer comments: 38

1:10 pm – Hour 9

More reading & cheering for me! I’ve changed into sweats and my Pride & Prejudice sweatshirt, so I’m ready for an afternoon full of read-a-thon-ing!

Reading: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia)
Munching: Baked Pasta with Broccoli
Listening: It’s Not True by William Fitzsimmons

Books finished: 1
Total pages read: 220
Total reading time: 3hrs 53min
Total cheer comments: 58

3:02 pm – Hour 11

Its me again! I finished another book! And I’m eating again! Took a little break for blueberries and youtube videos. I’m ashamed to admit this, but I had to look at something that wasn’t words for a little while. Oh, and I unloaded the dishwasher. Is that more info than you needed?

Reading: About to start Stuck In Neutral by Terry Trueman. 100-ish page YA book is a read-a-thoner’s dream.
Munching: Blueberries & dip
Listening: Silence.

Books finished: 2
Total pages read: 258
Total reading time: 4hrs 31min
Total cheer comments: 63

4:32 pm – Hour 12

The healthy portion of this read-a-thon has no concluded and it is now time for chocolate. YAY!

Reading: Stuck In Neutral by Terry Trueman
Munching: Aero Bubbles
Listening: Invented by Jimmy Eat World (ack this song is so very wonderful)

Books finished: 2
Total pages read: 295
Total reading time: 5hrs 8min
Total cheer comments: 77

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Stuck In Neutral by Terry Trueman
2. How many books have you read so far? This is my third.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? The Housekeeper and the Professer by Yoko Ogawa
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? I cleared the day in the calendar as soon as the date was announced. It’s my birthday on Monday so I figured “It’s my birthday weekend and I’ll read if I want to.”
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? No real distractions, but I’m sure there will be when hubby comes home from his class this evening.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How hungry I’ve been! Seriously, I’ve been sitting on the couch all day, there’s no reason for me to be this hungry.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Nope! Not yet ;)
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I learned a lot from Cheering and Reading last year, so I feel I’ve done pretty good so far.
9. Are you getting tired yet? YEP! My eyeballs hurt.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Short books! Short books! This is the first time I’ve really taken that to heart and it’s been a huge confidence-booster. Also, jump on twitter – chat, tweet your update links, and generally get involved.

6:41 pm – Hour 14

I finished another book! yay! However, with all my reading, my commenting suffered. So back at it now, with chips and beer in hand.

Reading: Just about to start The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa
Munching: Hint of Lime chips – my absolute most favourite kind of chips.
Listening: Disintegration by Jimmy Eat World

Books finished: 3
Total pages read: 372
Total reading time: 6hrs 35min
Total cheer comments: 77

11:16 pm – Hour 19

Well, that’s all for me, folks. I have to get up early tomorrow, so I’m heading to bed. Thanks so very much to everyone who stopped by to cheer me on throughout the day. I had a really fun Spring 2011 Read-a-thon. I spent much more time cheering this time than I did last year, which means I spent less time reading. But I’m just happy I got to spend a day hanging out with all you bookish peeps. See ya around!

Reading: The Housekeeper and the Professor
Munching: Carrot cake, ice cream, and tea
Listening: to my hubby watch Unstoppable

Final Read-a-thon Stats:
Books finished: 3.5
*Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
*Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Illustrated by Camille Rose Garcia)
*Stuck In Neutral by Terry Trueman
*1/2 The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa

Total pages read: 471
Total reading time: 8hrs 51min

Total cheer comments: 121
Total cheering time: 3hrs 37min

Total participation time: 12hrs 28min (not including Twitter time, working on blog posts, etc)

 

38 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 5:56 am

    Have fun today!! :D

  2. April 9, 2011 6:16 am

    Mini Shopaholic is in my pile too! Have a great day of reading!

  3. April 9, 2011 7:00 am

    Give me an R
    Give me an E
    Give me an A
    Give me a D

    What does it spell? READ!!

    Hope today’s a great day Alita! Some wonderful books in your stack (Wrinkle in Time is in mine as well).

  4. Sherry permalink
    April 9, 2011 7:17 am

    Your breakfast looks yummy! Looks like you have some great books lined up – they give me some ideas for the next RAT. Happy reading!

  5. April 9, 2011 7:22 am

    R-E-A-D today we’re not going to sleep, go readathon! lol have fun reading!!

  6. April 9, 2011 7:30 am

    Happy reading!

  7. April 9, 2011 7:43 am

    Happy Read-a-Thon Day, Alita! Mini Shopaholic is a hoot and great starter.

  8. April 9, 2011 7:59 am

    Yum you had a good breakfast to get you going! Great book list too! Have fun Alita!

  9. April 9, 2011 8:49 am

    Yum, your food looks delicious! So far I’ve just had some cheese, almonds, and yogurt. I think we’re breaking for lunch soonish.

  10. April 9, 2011 10:05 am

    Read Alice and Through the Looking Glass!! They’re short, and really funny. Maybe you can save them for later, when you need a break? :) Happy reading!

  11. April 9, 2011 10:12 am

    Congrats on finishing your first book, Alita! Also your breakfast looks DELICIOUS– it’s actually making me hungry…

  12. April 9, 2011 10:16 am

    I love Alice’s Adventures and Through the Looking Glass. Have a great reading day!

  13. April 9, 2011 10:45 am

    Looks like we are doing about the same stats! Keep it up!

  14. April 9, 2011 10:45 am

    You are great at updating your progress!

    Great job! You have some awesome books lined up.

    Happy Reading!

  15. April 9, 2011 10:50 am

    love the food pics! Keep on going!

  16. April 9, 2011 12:23 pm

    Good luck today and have fun!! I am still trying to get into the swing of things!! LOL!

  17. April 9, 2011 12:33 pm

    Mmmm, apples and cheese! I wish I’d had the foresight to buy healthy foods like that. I do have a little bleu cheese left, but no fruit. Most of my snacks are, um, rather artery-clogging. Oops! At least it’s just for one day.

  18. April 9, 2011 1:20 pm

    Go Reader Go,
    Go Reader Go,
    Fire up and scream,
    Read
    Read Read!

    You’re killing me with your food pics, Alita. Getting hungry! ;)

    And you have a P&P t-shirt? Jeal!

  19. April 9, 2011 1:53 pm

    You’re doing great! Keep on keeping on!

  20. April 9, 2011 3:09 pm

    Love the picture updates! And it’s always good to take a break from words for a while; it keeps it fun. I usually go with webcomics, because then I feel like I’m still reading. Good luck!

  21. April 9, 2011 3:09 pm

    You’re doing great! Love your reading and munchies choices!

  22. April 9, 2011 3:55 pm

    Wow, all that and cheering too? *bows before you*. :)

  23. April 9, 2011 4:37 pm

    I love how you’ve posted pics of your snacks alongside your reading! (And yay chocolate!) :)

  24. April 9, 2011 4:58 pm

    1. You have a great lineup of books!
    2. I love that you’re including your music along with everything else!
    3. I WANT ALL THAT FOOD!!

    Happy reading!

  25. April 9, 2011 5:14 pm

    You’re doing fantastic! Keep going!!!

  26. April 9, 2011 5:38 pm

    Looks like you’re having a great readathon! What did you think to Mini Shopaholic? I love that book – well, I love the whole series!

    I’m on book #3 but starting to flag (it’s 1.38am here in the UK). Must. Keep. Going!

    Have fun :)

  27. April 9, 2011 5:40 pm

    Oh man I don’t know how you do it. I didn’t sign up for the Readathon b/c I didn’t think I’d have the time today. But I have so I’ve been doing my own readathon, and my eyes hurt! I’ll have to work on my stamina so I can participate in the next one. But you’re doing great! Go, Alita, go!

  28. April 9, 2011 6:15 pm

    Are you in Canada or the UK-I love Aero and miss them dearly.

  29. April 9, 2011 9:03 pm

    Yay for other Nerdfighters! Or at least, I assume you are a nerdfighter based on the screenshot of Hank’s video. Thanks for your cheer comment too! I love all the blog love going on today!

  30. April 9, 2011 10:24 pm

    oo… chips… beer… god, that sounds good. I’m pretty sure I could read faster (and be better looking and also be able to sing in tune) if I had a few beers. Next time I am going to plan better in order to have adequate snackage. Newbie mistake on my part.

    Thanks for stopping by with the words of encouragement. GOOOOO READ-A-THON!!

  31. Sherry permalink
    April 9, 2011 10:30 pm

    Hopefully you’re still hanging in there! Come on, you can do it!

  32. April 9, 2011 11:16 pm

    Hang in there, Alita. You can do it! Your food pics are giving me life right now.

  33. April 10, 2011 11:15 am

    great job!

  34. April 10, 2011 2:43 pm

    Wow! You had such a great readathon!! And such yummy looking food! Next time, I really need to prepare my foods better!

  35. April 10, 2011 4:51 pm

    471 pages! Looks to me like you did very well. I was busy this weekend and had to miss the read-a-thon… but I look forward to the next one!

  36. stacybuckeye permalink
    April 13, 2011 8:23 pm

    Looks like you had a great day! Wish I’d been able to participate this time around. Hope you like the Housekeeper & Professor. I really enjoyed it.

Trackbacks

  1. In Which I Play Catch Up: Read-a-thon Reviews « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

