Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

March 19, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the publisher’s website:
Hailsham seems like a pleasant English boarding school, far from the influences of the city. Its students are well tended and supported, trained in art and literature, and become just the sort of people the world wants them to be. But, curiously, they are taught nothing of the outside world and are allowed little contact with it.
Within the grounds of Hailsham, Kathy grows from schoolgirl to young woman, but it’s only when she and her friends Ruth and Tommy leave the safe grounds of the school (as they always knew they would) that they realize the full truth of what Hailsham is.

Soundtrack Song: “Stability” by Death Cab For Cutie
I wanted a song that evoked a mix of nostalgia and melancholy, and Death Cab for Cutie immediately came to mind. I love the lyrics of this song and even the 9 minute outro feels consistent with the feel of the book. There’s something about it, outro and all, that makes me prefer it to the rerecorded, shortened “Stable Song” on Plans.

The gift of memory is an awful curse
With age it just gets much worse

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2011 10:45 am

    I am currently listening to this in audiobook, narrated by Emilia Fox and it is brilliant!

  2. March 20, 2011 6:24 am

    What a very cool song!

  3. March 20, 2011 8:42 am

    I love Death Cab! PS, I would be embarrassed to admit how long I believed the song in Never Let Me Go was a real song.

  4. March 20, 2011 1:40 pm

    Coffee and a Book Chick – So glad you’re enjoying it! I’m really liking the book and having to slow down a bit so I don’t speed right through it.

    Juju – Thanks!

    Jenny – Well, I’ll admit that I nearly looked up the song to include it in this post. I won’t admit, though, how many times I’ve assumed that songs in books are fictional only to find out later that they’re real. So when I got to this one I thought, hey maybe this is a real song! Good to know it isn’t ;)

  5. March 21, 2011 2:35 pm

    I absolutely agree on Death Cab for Cutie with Never Let Me Go. Excellent choice!

  6. March 23, 2011 1:05 pm

    I love this idea of a song to go with the book you are reading. I wanted to read Never Let Me Go as part of Erin’s reading buddies this month but so far I haven’t found the time to get to it. When I do read it, I’m going to make sure I listenb to Daeth Cab for Cutie “Stability”! Great idea.

  7. March 26, 2011 9:07 am

    Nice pairing! I like how you do this. I think I need to listen to a lot more music to do it well, but I enjoy reading your matches!

  8. March 26, 2011 7:44 pm

    Danielle – Death Cab are one of my absolute favourites.

    Amy – There’s definitely still time to join in! Enjoy the book and “Stability” :)

    Erin – Thanks! Pairing music with books is a lot of fun.

Trackbacks

  1. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

