Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte #2

March 12, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the publisher’s website:
Jane Eyre is an orphan grown up under the harsh regime first of her aunt and then as a pupil at Lowood Institution. She leaves to become a governess to the daughter of the mysterious Mr Rochester; gradually their relationship deepens, but Jane’s passionate nature has yet to endure its deepest blows.

Soundtrack Song: “All Of My Days” by Alexi Murdoch
Still reading Jane Eyre so you get another song for it. Woohoo! I don’t have much to say about this selection, other than it goes so well with Mr. Rochester’s speech in Vol. III Ch. I (Chapter 27). In lieu of a longer explanation I give you two quotes. One from the book (which makes me sigh) and one from the song. Happy listening!

“After a youth and manhood passed half in unutterable misery and half in dreary solitude, I have for the first time found what I can truly love – I have found you. You are my sympathy – my better self – my good angel – I am bound to you with a strong attachment. I think you good, gifted, lovely: a fervent, a solemn passion is conceived in my heart; it leans to you, draws you to my centre and spring of life, wraps my existence about you – and, kindling in pure, powerful flame, fuses you and me in one” (p. 315)

Well I have been searching all of my days
All of my days
Many a road, you know I’ve been walking on
All of my days
And I’ve been trying to find
What’s been on my mind
As the days keep turning into night

Now I see clearly it’s you I’m looking for
All of my days
So I’ll smile, I know I’ll feel this loneliness no more
All of my days
For I look around me
And it seems you found me
And it’s coming into sight
As the days keep turning into night

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2011 9:26 am

    What a lovely song. His voice is so lulling and sweet.

  2. March 12, 2011 4:25 pm

    The first time I read that passage, it wasn’t as beautiful to me as it is now. Thanks for making me re-read it! And great song!

  3. justbookreading permalink
    March 13, 2011 6:52 am

    Thanks to you I’m now in love with Alexi Murdock. I keep going back to him on my Pandora list. :-) Enjoy Jane!

  4. March 13, 2011 6:57 am

    I loved this one…how do you find all of these great songs?

  5. March 13, 2011 6:25 pm

    Juju – Isn’t it? I went to see him play last week and his voice is even more mellow and soothing in person.

    Amy – I didn’t really realize it until I was typing out and then I was like “Wedding vows?”

    justbookreading – Yay! I’m so happy to have helped create another Alexi Murdoch fan :) And if you ever get a chance to see him live – do it!

    Staci – Isn’t it wonderful? I’ve had this album on repeat this week, so it was already in my head when I was thinking of this week’s song.

  6. March 14, 2011 3:55 pm

    Great song! Never heard of him before. Perfect for Jane Eyre!

I <3 Comments

