Skip to content

Monday Round Up (03.07.11)

March 6, 2011

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week:

1. Big Jet Plane by Angus & Julia Stone (I kind of figured this would be #1 after discovering last week and listening to it on repeat. Even when I tried to listen to something else, I always came right back to this one. I love when that happens.)
2. Cold Wind by Joshua Hyslop
3. Who Am I? by Joshua Hyslop
4. Everything You’ve Done Wrong by Sloan
5. One Headlight by The Wallflowers

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event started by Marcia at The Printed Page. March’s host is Laura at I’m Booking It.

I had the day off on Friday and intended to buy a new coat, but somehow I came home with a bag of books instead. I’m not entirely sure how that happened. My defense is that they warm me on the inside.

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster (I read this during the Spring 2010 read-a-thon and absolutely loved it, but had borrowed it from the library. I was so excited to find a copy of it at the bookstore!)
Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr (Another that I loved when I first read it, but then had to return to the library. I knew that one day it would have to be part of my own collection.)
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett (I’ve never read it, but have always wanted to. So when I saw this hardcover copy in the Children’s Classics section [I didn’t even know that section existed!], I just had to pick it up.)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Chapters 11-20 of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (for Amy’s read-a-long)
Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster (I started it on my way home from the bookstore, and giggled with delight the entire way.)
Swoon At Your Own Risk by Sydney Salter

Posted:
The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
Wrapping Up February 2011
Soundtrack Saturday: Jane Eyre

Currently Reading: Chapters 21-30 of Jane Eyre

Up Next: Just focusing on Jane Eyre this week!

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

**BC Book Bloggers** I’ve been thinking of planning a meet up for book bloggers in the Vancouver/Lower Mainland area. If you’re interested, please leave a comment on this post or send me an email at alitareads at gmail dot com.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 5:15 pm

    I hope you have last year’s coat, LOL. I totally get buying books instead! Enjoy.

  2. March 6, 2011 5:26 pm

    I think books were the better buy!! :D I must get moving on Villette that I’m reading for a readalong too!! Enjoy Jane Eyre!

  3. March 6, 2011 5:34 pm

    Buying a stack of books instead of necessary clothing sounds like something I would totally do.

    I love A Little Princess. I read it for one of my Children’s Lit classes in college. I also liked the Shirley Temple movie version, which I grew up watching.

    As for music, I’ve gotta say I’m addicted to Rolling in the Deep by Adele. I can’t seem to hear it enough.

  4. March 6, 2011 6:17 pm

    That reminds me of the quote by Erasmus: “when I have a little money, I buy books; if I have any left over, I buy food and clothes.”

    Good choice! LOL

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  5. bluestockingbb permalink
    March 6, 2011 6:23 pm

    I’ll have to try the Neverending story!

    Here is mine

  6. March 6, 2011 7:16 pm

    I’m reading Jane Eyre right now, too! I just love it! Shh…don’t tell anyone, but I ended up in a bookstore this week when I was heading somewhere else too! :) (And I never made it to my initial destination!) :) Enjoy your reading week!

  7. March 6, 2011 7:19 pm

    I love Jane Eyre. I hope you enjoy it! Happy Reading :)

  8. March 6, 2011 7:21 pm

    Excellent haul this week! Wow! Nice! I hope you enjoy every word!! You can check out my mailbox over here: http://blog.juliealindsey.com/

  9. March 6, 2011 7:50 pm

    I really enjoy Childrens reads and a hardcover classic sounds wonderful! Enjoy your week!

  10. March 6, 2011 7:53 pm

    Jane Eyre is absolutely lovely. One of my all time favourites to re-read. Enjoy your week. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-29.html

  11. March 6, 2011 8:21 pm

    I hope you enjoy your new books. I’ve wanted to read A Little Princess, but like you haven’t done so. I almost picked it up once at the store but ended up getting The Secret Garden, Heidi, Black Beauty, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, and Journey to the Center of the Earth instead. They were all clearanced for less than two dollars and I only had 14 dollars on me. I had to put one down, and A Little Princess was the one.

    Have a great week.

  12. March 6, 2011 9:46 pm

    I finished more K to 3 books for my project, some short stories and at last, Kraken. Come see what I’m reading now.

  13. March 6, 2011 10:16 pm

    I love that you came home with books rather than a coat!

    Be careful that your copy of A Little Princess isn’t abridged– I was appalled at how many children’s classics were modified with little to no comments to that effect visible :-(.

    Enjoy your reading!

  14. March 7, 2011 1:45 am

    I really need to check out Daddy Long Legs. I want to see if it is the same story as the movie with Fred Astaire, which I loved as a kid. Have a great week!

  15. March 7, 2011 3:41 am

    A Little Princess is one of my all time favorites! lucky you!

  16. March 7, 2011 4:21 am

    The only one of your songs I know is One Headlight. A bag of books is so much better than a coat. Enjoy your new books!

  17. March 7, 2011 5:25 am

    Loved Jane Eyre. My mailbox is up. Please do come over and visit.

  18. March 7, 2011 9:10 am

    I always enjoyed The Little Princess when I was younger – the tv series – but never got around to reading the book. I hope you enjoy it!

    Take a look at what’s In My Mailbox this week.

  19. March 7, 2011 4:20 pm

    Too funny how the coat trip turned out :) I have yet to read Jane Eyre, I really need to fix that!

  20. justbookreading permalink
    March 8, 2011 12:27 pm

    Love the top tunes wrap-up. I almost always end up adding them to my Pandora so I can listen happily at work. :-)

    Just think, spring will be here soon so maybe a new coat won’t be needed…?? Here’s to sunny days for reading outdoors!

  21. March 8, 2011 2:26 pm

    My defense is that they warm me on the inside.

    Love that! LOVE. And Once Was Lost is in my TBR stack — Sara Zarr has quite the way with words! I still think about Sweethearts from time to time.

  22. March 21, 2011 3:25 am

    A Little Princess is one of my all time favorite books – enjoy!

I <3 Comments

