Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

February 5, 2011

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
It’s just a small story really, about among other things: a girl, some words, an accordionist, some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist-fighter, and quite a lot of thievery.

Soundtrack Song: “Breathe” by Alexi Murdoch
I’m only about 120 pages into The Book Thief, but I think this song fits well with Liesel trying to adjust to her new life with her foster parents. All the sleepless nights, haunted by nightmares of the journey to her new home. And trying to figure out the answers to questions regarding her mother.

“Where was she?
What had they done to her?
And once and for all, who, in actual fact, were they?” (p. 96)

In the quiet of the shadow
In the corner of a room
Darkness moves upon you
Like a cloud across the moon

And all the suffering that you’ve witnessed
And the hand prints on the wall
They remind you how it’s endless
How endlessly you fall

And the answer that you’re seeking
For the question that you found
Drives you further to confusion
As you lose your sense of ground

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2011 10:52 am

    stop it! i can’t believe you’re reading the book thief! it’s one of two books i’ve ever broken up with. why can’t i get through this book—everyone LOVES it. as for alexi murdoch, haven’t heard of him but am off to check him out. have a great weekend. i’m finally feeling better from the flu–sorry i’ve been awol!

    • February 5, 2011 12:14 pm

      I’ve had this book sitting on my shelf for over a year and have *finally* gotten around to read it. I kept putting it off because a) I was afraid it wasn’t going to be as good as everyone says and b) I was (and still am) afraid of how sad everyone says it is. I don’t quite like crying on public transit. So far I have neither disliked it nor cried. So, that’s good.

      Glad to hear you’re feeling better! I’ve just been stricken with a cold, which will give me lots of time to read The Book Thief before venturing out in public with it on Monday.

  2. February 5, 2011 5:03 pm

    I loved The Book Thief when I first read it in high school. I’d love to re-read it some day! The song’s a great choice as well. I’ve never heard of the artist before, but I’ve added him to my playlist on Playlist.com, and I’ll be checking out some more of his music eventually!

  3. February 6, 2011 5:46 am

    Enjoy the Book Thief! That’s one of my favorites. My music collection could use some new additions, too, so I’ll have to check this artist out. Thanks!

  4. justbookreading permalink
    February 6, 2011 8:06 am

    Hope you enjoy it. The Book Thief is one of my favorite. Great song pick this week too!

Trackbacks

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (final thoughts) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

