Skip to content

Wrapping Up December 2010 & January 2011

February 1, 2011

In the midst Christmas and New Year’s rush, I completely forgot to do a December wrap up post. Oops! By the time I remembered that I should do one, I decided I might as well just double up with the January wrap up.

December was an awesome reading month for me, keeping in mind that I usually only read 4-5 books a month. Having the week off between Christmas and New Year’s definitely helped. Although we had plans nearly every day of the week, I was able to get lots of wonderful Christmastime reading done.

January was also a great reading month, not only in quantity but also quality. I really, really liked each and every book I read. And beginning with a reread of a favourite was a fantastic way to start off the year. However, it wasn’t a great month for blogging. I have reviews scheduled for two of my January reads, but still need to work on posts for the others. I guess I spent the time I usually would have taken to blog to read instead. Although, I’m surprised at how much reading I did get done during December and January considering the amount of time I’ve spent playing Boggle and SimCity on the iPad…

Looking forward, I’m hoping to get caught up on the rest of my reviews (I need another Bloggiesta stat!) and am excited about continuing my Top Tunes feature on Mondays. Otherwise, it should be business as usual over here at alita.reads.

December 2010

Finished:
On Agate Hill by Lee Smith
Holly’s Inbox: Scandal in the City by Holly Denman
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness
The New World by Patrick Ness
On Strike for Christmas by Sheila Roberts
Visions of Sugar Plums by Janet Evanovich
When Christmas Comes by Debbie Macomber
The Gift by Cecelia Ahern

Favourite Book: Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

Least Favourite Book: The Gift by Cecelia Ahern

Soundtrack Saturdays:
Jane by April Lindner
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

 

January 2011

Finished:
Breakfast At Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
Very Valentine by Adriana Trigiani
Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes
Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

Favourite Book: Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen (well, actually Breakfast at Tiffany’s, but I want to give a non-reread a chance..)

Least Favourite Book: The Neverending Story by Michael Ende (not saying I didn’t like it, but all the books I read in January were really very good)

Soundtrack Saturdays:
Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes
Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen
The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

How were your December & January? What were your favourite books? Did you do any holiday-themed reading?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:12 pm

    I love how organized you are…

  2. February 1, 2011 2:25 pm

    Garden Spells was my favorite in January as well! I hear so many good things about Patrick Ness’s series. Gotta get going on those.

  3. February 1, 2011 2:27 pm

    You’ve been busy :) great list!

I <3 Comments

