Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Rampant by Diana Peterfreund

January 29, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
Forget everything you ever knew about unicorns…
The sparkly, innocent creatures of lore are a myth. Real unicorns are venomous, man-eating monsters with huge fangs and razor-sharp horns. And they can only be killed by virgin descendants of Alexander the Great.
Fortunately, unicorns have been extinct for a hundred and fifty years.
Or not.

Soundtrack Song: “Blood Red Summer” by Coheed & Cambria
There are a few things about this song that made me pick it to go along with Rampant. First of all, the title. Blood Red Summer? Yup that pretty much describes Astrid’s summer in Rome. Secondly, the dark lyrics put to an upbeat melody makes me think of Astrid’s immersion into the world of killer unicorns set against the bright Italian summer.

And thirdly, let’s take a closer look at some of the lyrics:

Faint white figures paint my sleep (Unicorns, maybe?)

Does it cost me scarring if the words stay true (Astrid may not want to believe that unicorns exist, but that doesn’t stop them from being freaking scary and causing bodily harm)

So destined I am to walk among the dark, a child in keeping secrets from… (Seriously, who’s going to believe that she’s a unicorn hunter? And more importantly, who’s going to want to date one?)

What did I do to deserve this? (Much of Astrid’s inner monologue for the first part of the book consists of ‘just because of my ancestors I’m expected to be a unicorn hunter?!’ Actually, I wouldn’t be surprised if she used this exact line.)

And then, and then, I saw the music video for the song. Definitely in the ‘let’s fight mythical creatures’ vein.

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 3:48 am

    What a freaky, freaky video! Wow. You always amaze me at how you are able to find a song that fits a book. I wish I were able to do that, but nope…songs don’t come to me like that.

    Soooo….this song is a good indicator of what the book “feels” like? Hmmm…makes me curious about the book.

    I hope you keep doing these posts because even though I don’t comment often, I sure do enjoy reading them.

  2. January 29, 2011 5:17 am

    O that sounds really perfect :)

  3. January 29, 2011 9:49 am

    ibeeeg – Sometimes I feel that my song choices are a bit of a stretch, but I’m glad you like them!

    Juju – Thanks!

  4. January 29, 2011 1:39 pm

    I love this song, and I recently swapped books with another blogger so I could read Rampant. I’ll definitely keep this song in mind while I’m reading it!

  5. January 29, 2011 6:00 pm

    I’m amazed too at how you pick these songs!!!

  6. January 31, 2011 1:15 am

    I wish I could see the cover of the book

I <3 Comments

