Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

January 22, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the back cover:
Bastian Balthazar Bux is shy, awkward, and certainly not heroic. His only escape is reading books. When Bastian happens upon an old book called The Neverending Story, he’s swept into the magical world of Fantastica – so much that he finds he has actually become a character in the story! And when he realizes that this mysteriously enchanted world is in great danger, he also discovers that he has been the one to save it. Can Bastian overcome the barrier between reality and his imagination in order to save Fantastica?

Soundtrack Song: Animal Arithmetic by Jónsi
I don’t know what it is about Jón Þór Birgisson that makes me want to put his music with Fantasy books, but when I started thinking of a song for The Neverending Story I immediately thought of his solo album Go. The pure happiness of this song reminds me of Bastian first arriving in Fantastica and his joy at realizing he could create and enjoy whatever he wanted, but before the power of it went to his head.

I see you colourful, I see you in the trees
I see you spiritful, You’re in the breeze
I see it in your hands, Tree fingers draw a beam
I see you in the sand, Roll down the stream

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 10:35 am

    That’s kind of perfect :)

  2. January 22, 2011 9:11 pm

    I love this feature! What a clever idea.

  3. January 23, 2011 4:11 pm

    Whenever I hear the title “The Never Ending Story” I think of the “Never Ending Song” that used to be sung around a campfire. Your title is much better.

    I’m reading The Boy in the Moon by Ian Brown and I’m having trouble matching music to go with it. Ian writes about his son Walker who is profoundly disabled and the mystery within him. A topic this deep, complex and personal needs the soul of Beethoven. In this case it’s his Sonata #8, the Pathetique, second movement.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Round Up (01.24.11) « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

