Skip to content

Bring it on, 2011

January 5, 2011

Happy 2011 all! I’m not one for resolutions or setting goals for myself, because I know the chances of me actually keeping them are slim to none. BUT there are a few things I want to see happen in my 2011 reading.

I mentioned in my 2010 wrap up post that my fellow book bloggers have had an impact on my to be read pile, which in 2010 became a to be read shelf. But who am I kidding, it’s actually two shelves now. On 1st of January 2011, my TBR shelves sat at 55 books. On the 31st of December I would like that number to either be significantly smaller or to have been replaced with all new unread books. I don’t have much of a plan for tackling that list, no order I want to read them in. Most likely I’ll read whatever catches my fancy or use trusty ol’ random.org to choose for me.

Apart from the TBR shelves, I also want to read more titles from the Characters With Disabilities list I put together near the end of 2010. I currently only have one of the titles on my shelf, which definitely needs to change. I’ve decided not to join any challenges this year (don’t quote me on that, that could definitely change within the next 12 months), but this list will be my own personal challenge. It’s hard for me to explain why reading more of these books has become so important to me. I think it’s part growing up with a brother who has multiple learning and behavioural disabilities and all the difficulties that presented. And also part having my mom and friend now both work for an organization that works with people with disabilities, and hearing their many stories of the amazing, sweet, funny people they come in contact with on a daily basis. Almost like these stories have softened some the hardness that developed while growing up dealing with my brother’s disabilities. Yikes, this is getting deep.

Apart from reading, I think that 2011 could very well be a challenging year, with hubby busy with school and my new responsibilities at work. But at the moment, I feel ready to tackle whatever the year throws at us.

Let me know what your plans are for 2011. What are you looking forward to? Do you have any resolutions, reading or otherwise?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 10:02 pm

    Ahaha! Ha. ha. Yeah, I wish I only had 55 books on my TBR pile. :(

    • January 5, 2011 10:07 pm

      Not that I’m trying to belittle your TBR pile! Just, uh. Yeah, that didn’t come out right. I’m sorry! I’ll just be sitting over here, supporting you (and giving you more book recs so your TBR pile gets even bigger!).

  2. January 5, 2011 10:49 pm

    I recommend that you add “The Boy in the Moon” by Ian Brown to your TBR list. Ian is a journalist with the Globe and Mail and is the father of a profoundly disabled son named Walker. Ian first started writing about Walker in the Globe and Mail that included correspondence with Jean Vanier as Ian struggled to understand who Walker is and why his life is important.

    Personally my new year’s resolution is that I will make friends with me new e-reader and that I will be a better blogger.

  3. Mumsy permalink
    January 6, 2011 6:20 am

    I, too, have a sibling with multiple disabilities, so I applaud your disabilities challenge. One that I just read is Left Neglected by Lisa Genova, the author of Still Alice. I liked it better than many books I have read about disabilities – it’s VERY well researched. I put a review on LibraryThing, if you’re interested: http://www.librarything.com/work/book/68535455

  4. January 6, 2011 7:52 am

    Disabilities? Cool! I look forward to what books you find.

  5. January 6, 2011 11:58 am

    That’s a great resolution. I’m looking forward to your reviews as I’m sure a few will make it onto my TBR as well. :-)

    I don’t have any specific resolutions but I joined fewer challenges and plan to read more of my own books this year.

  6. January 6, 2011 5:59 pm

    I’m just resolving to follow up on good things, but I love seeing other people’s resolutions. I’ll be interested to see the books you read about characters with disabilities — I’ve had some experience with that (though of course not as much as Mumsy!) — so honest, fair portrayals of disabled characters are important to me.

  7. January 7, 2011 5:02 pm

    I love your resolution of reading more books with characters with disabilities. I’ll be reading your blog to hear more about them as you read them.

    Good luck with your resolutions!

I <3 Comments

