Skip to content

Monday Round Up (12.20.10)

December 19, 2010

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness (review to come, but boy did I need to catch my breath after that one!)
On Agate Hill by Lee Smith

Posted:
In Which I Play Catch Up: Sequels (Pretties & Holly’s Inbox: Scandal in the City)

Current Reading: In between books.

Up Next: No idea. I don’t have any pressing library books waiting for me, so I might grab something from the TBR shelf. Any suggestions?

What are you reading? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

19 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 7:08 pm

    You know I just love it when you let us make suggestions on your next read. I am reading Forgotten Garden the month for book club, one I have been meaning to read forever so I vote that one…. of course I see Book Thief is still on your TBR too and since I LOVED that one I am curious to read your thoughts on it. :)

    • December 19, 2010 7:38 pm

      I bought the Book Thief in December last year and it’s still on my shelf! I’m just so afraid of the SADS that I always hear are contained within its pages.

      • December 20, 2010 7:22 am

        Book Thief has some sads but overall, it’s just a great and uplifting book even with all the war and horror. And Death narrates! It’s so cool. I’d pick up that one.

        I”m reading Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver that has been sitting on my shelf since last March. So good! I also just finished up the Shack by William P. Young and Dreadnought by Cherie Priest (excellent by the way). It’s always fun to have options!

  2. December 19, 2010 7:09 pm

    Ah, what to read? That is definitely a good question every Sunday. Hope you find something that keeps you engaged for the week.

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-dec-20/

  3. December 19, 2010 7:34 pm

    I just finished Monsters of Men too and I hear you about catching your breath!

  4. December 19, 2010 7:53 pm

    I just added the first book in the Chaos Walking series to my TBR list a week or two ago, can’t wait to get the chance to read it!

    Hope you have a great one :) Mine is at:
    http://www.dorolerium.com/?p=2060

  5. December 19, 2010 7:56 pm

    good luck with what ever you pick to read. You’ve got some interesting stuff on your TBR shelf.

  6. December 19, 2010 8:40 pm

    I have the Uglies series on my TBR pile, I’ll get to them one day…I hope! :D

    Here’s my What are you reading?

  7. December 19, 2010 9:18 pm

    Oh it is fun to decide which book to read. A Secret Gift was brilliant as was Cleopatra. Happy choosing and have a lovely week. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/12/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-18.html

  8. December 19, 2010 9:49 pm

    Black Wings by Christina Henry is what I’m reading and it so far is a very good read.

    What I’m Reading

  9. December 19, 2010 10:57 pm

    I have Monsters of Men on audio to listen to pretty soon and I’m so excited to read it! I keep hearing excellent things about it.

    As for what should you read next…I’d definitely go with the Sarah Addison Allen book as my first choice and then the Adriana Trigiani books. I adore both of their writing and if you just need a good breather after your last one those might be the right ones to pick. Good luck!

    Have a fabulous reading week, a happy holiday week and if you get a minute stop by to check out what I’ve been reading at There’s A Book!

  10. December 20, 2010 12:13 am

    I just went to have a quick look at the blurb on the Patrick Ness book – it sound wonderful..

    I ‘ll look out for your thoughts on it..

    Enjoy the week…

    :)

  11. December 20, 2010 1:45 am

    The Book Thief? Why dont you just read that one? I heard many people said that’s great book.
    I am waiting till they finished translating it

    Hope you’ll get your reading soon

    Have a great holiday

    my It’s monday! What are you reading?

  12. December 20, 2010 1:59 am

    I also finished Monsters of Men and I must say I was blown away by this series. I am actually sad to be leaving Viola and Todd behind. Hope you have a great week and very Merry Christmas!

  13. December 20, 2010 2:24 am

    Nice when you don’t feel you “have” to read a particular book and can pick up whatever you want! I suggest Garden Spells if you want something light or Prodigal Summer if you want a beautiful book. Happy reading.

  14. December 20, 2010 3:49 am

    Monsters of Men! I’ve been so wanting to read Patrick Ness but can’t seem to make time. Top of the stack in 2011! Hope you have a lovely week.

  15. December 20, 2010 8:00 am

    Ooh I checked out your TBR shelf and my vote goes for Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen. Love her books! My reading post is up at The Crowded Leaf.

  16. December 20, 2010 9:32 am

    OK, tough choice. My vote would be for either A Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy or The Pricess Bride. Both are fabulous books! Enjoy the next book.

  17. December 20, 2010 12:29 pm

    Sometimes it is so hard to find a book when you are in between and don’t have anything jumping out at you. I hope you find the next one easily.

I <3 Comments

