Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

December 11, 2010
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
Todd and Viola are caught in the middle, with no chance of escape.
As the battles commence, how can they hope to stop the fighting? How can there be peace when they’re so hopelessly outnumbered? And if war makes monsters of men, what terrible choices await?
But then a third voice breaks into the battle, one bent on revenge…

Soundtrack Song:
Right after I finished The Ask And The Answer (Chaos Walking book 2) I heard “Mecha Love” by Hadouken! for the first time and thought it would work perfect with all the chaos coming up in book 3, Monsters of Men. Then I started MoM and, well, it just didn’t work. But still every time I heard “Mecha Love” I still thought of the book.

When I’ve listened to the song and I’ve tried to make it align with Todd & Viola’s perspective. But when I was thinking of this post today, I came to the song from a different perspective; from the perspective of 1017.

Then the rage, the unwillingness to back down, the last stand… it all fits. Throw in some explosions from The Answer and Spackle/New Prentisstown battles and you’ve got the visuals for this week’s soundtrack song.

You wont break my armour
I will never surrender

Take a walk
So this is the last stand
So this is your last chance
So this is your last

 

You wanted the world
You wanted it all

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 6:19 am

    This does go well with 1017! I like it!

  2. December 11, 2010 9:11 am

    What a wonderful idea! Music and books! Yeah.

  3. December 11, 2010 1:38 pm

    I need to read this series. My son read book one and didn’t care for it so that made me shy away from it. I may have to give it a shot.

  4. December 11, 2010 2:24 pm

    This is fantastic – love the sound track choice!

  5. December 12, 2010 6:43 pm

    Hello, I stopped by your blog today.
    Ann

  6. December 16, 2010 9:43 am

    Jenny – Thanks. Yeah, he totally has a bad case of the revenges.

    Heather – Thanks! It’s one of my favourite things to do.

    Staci – READ IT!!!!! One of the best series I’ve read in a long long time.

    Sheila – Thank you ;)

    Ann – Hi! Thanks for stopping by.

Trackbacks

  1. Monsters of Men & The New World by Patrick Ness « alita.reads.

I <3 Comments

