Skip to content

Jane by April Lindner (final thoughts)

December 10, 2010

From the author’s website:
What if Jane Eyre fell in love with a rock star?
Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance. But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?

I love love love Jane Eyre, so when I heard that a modern take on it was being released I was immediately intrigued. And then when I heard that the Mr. Rochester was going to be a rock star? Well, I was all over that concept. So I added my name to the library hold list and waited and waited and waited some more for the book to finally become available (why oh why was it ‘In Processing’ for over a month?). And I when I finally had it in my possession, I wasn’t disappointed.

While it wasn’t quite the same as the the awesomeness that is Jane EyreJane was a really fun read. Being a fan of the original, I loved seeing how the author put modern twists on the original scenes and dialogue. In their first meeting when Mr. Rathburn almost runs over Jane while she’s walking down the country road, he accuses her of being “one of those speed walkers”, which absolutely cracked me up.

One thing I really liked about it was that all the words and actions of the characters felt natural for who they were in modern times. There wasn’t anything awkward that was thrown in just because St. John or Jane. Yes, most of what they said and did was plucked right from the orgiginal, but it never felt out of place.

However, while Jane was a fun read, it seemed to lack a certain spark and depth that the original had. Jane Moore was a good Jane Eyre and Nico Rathburn a good Mr. Rochester, but the clever dialogue, Jane’s absolutely unshakable strength, and Mr. Rochester’s love for her just wasn’t the same. I didn’t really expect it to be the same, which is probably why I still enjoyed Jane, but it made me crave the original. I very nearly started  Jane Eyre as soon as I turned the last page of Jane. I even took it off the shelf and started flipping through it. That said, it will be hard to return Jane to the library this weekend. I’ll be looking to get my own copy very soon.

I highly recommend Jane to anyone who has read (and enjoyed) Jane Eyre and is okay with the original being tampered with a bit. Anyone who hasn’t read Jane Eyre? What are you waiting for, read right now! And then read Jane.

My rating: 8/10
Soundtrack Saturday (one of my most favourite SS posts I’ve done)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 2:16 pm

    I’ve had this one on my read list for awhile now. I should pick it up!

  2. December 10, 2010 5:32 pm

    I am ITCHING to read this.
    I love the concept (old/new) and the cover.
    Great review ;)

  3. December 11, 2010 2:25 pm

    I have to admit I have tried to read Jane Eyre and failed. Yes, failed. I couldnt get into it. I hope to try again…. and one day get it :)

  4. December 12, 2010 3:30 pm

    I finished Jane Eyre yesterday morning and loved it. I have this one on my list too. Can’t wait.

  5. She permalink
    December 14, 2010 4:48 pm

    I received this from my Secret Santa, so I’m glad to hear that it was good. I need to read Jane Eyre, so I can really feel like I can read this one.

  6. December 16, 2010 10:00 am

    Heather – If you do, let me know what you think of it!

    Juju – Isn’t the cover lovely? I kind of want to buy it just so I display it’s prettiness on my shelves.

    Sheila – Yes, you must try it again! But I’ll give you a pass to go ahead and read Jane since you’ve tried Jane Eyre already ;)

    Amy – Yay Jane Eyre! So glad you loved it :)

    She – Jane definitely makes a great gift book. I’d still recommend reading Jane Eyre, but Jane will at least give you a taste of how awesome the original story is.

I <3 Comments

